Certified Local Government Grants

Design guidelines for the Morrilton Commercial Historic District were developed with the help of a Certified Local Government Grant.)

City and county governments in Arkansas that participate in the AHPP's Certified Local Government (CLG) program are eligible for pass-through grants from the federal Historic Preservation Fund. AHPP must subgrant at least 10% of its annual federal appropriation to CLGs each year. (CLG grants can also be used to assist local governments seeking to join the program.)

CLG pass-through grants can be used for a variety of local historic preservation projects, including architectural surveys of historic sites or districts, preparation of nominations for the National Register of Historic Places, development of educational materials for historic property owners, and rehabilitation of local historic structures. CLG grants are often used to provide training and support to local historic district commissions.

Nineteen Arkansas cities currently participate in the Certified Local Government program: Batesville, Benton, Blytheville, Conway, El DoradoEureka Springs, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Helena-West Helena, Hot Springs, Little Rock, Morrilton, North Little Rock, Osceola, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Russellville, Texarkana, and Van Buren.