Walks Through History To Visit Titan II Missile Site





LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside in Van Buren County on September 12, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Titan II Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Program was a Cold War weapons system with 54 launch complexes in three states, 18 of which were in Arkansas. Titan II missiles could be launched from within their silos in less than a minute and had a range of 5,500 miles. On September 19, 1980, Complex 374-7 became the site of the most highly publicized disaster of the Titan II program after its missile exploded within the launch duct, fatally injuring an Air Force airman. The tour will begin at 11 a.m. and will last no more than two hours. The site is located on the west side of U.S. Hwy. 65 about 3.5 miles north of Damascus and one mile south of the South Side Bee Branch School District. The tour is co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit www.arkansaspreservation.org.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.