Site Search
Annual Report & Action Plan Free E-Newsletter Staff Directory FAQs Press Releases Related Links Site Map Home
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
Print This Page Forward to a Friend

FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED TRIBES ASSOCIATED WITH ARKANSAS

This is a list of federally recognized Indian tribes that have a historical association with the State of Arkansas. It is compiled to assist federal agencies in meeting their Section 106 review responsibilities under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended.

Under the implementing regulations of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (36 CFR Part 800), federal agencies are required to consult with federally recognized Indian tribes on all undertakings. The purpose of this consultation is to identify historic properties in the area of potential effects that may be of cultural and religious significance to a tribe or tribes and for the agency official to invite them to be consulting parties.

For information on tribal boundaries or tribal interests within the state, please contact the tribe directly or the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

ABSENTEE SHAWNEE TRIBE
2025 S. Gordon Cooper
Shawnee, OK 74801
405-275-4030
405-878-4711 FAX
WEB SITE: www.astribe.com
Ms. Edwina Butler-Wolfe, Governor
E-mail:  edwinaB@astribe.com

Mr. Joseph H. Blanchard, TRIBAL HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICER
Phone:  405 275-4030 Ex. 203
E-mail:  joseph.blanchard@astribe.com

Back to top

ALABAMA-QUASSARTE TRIBAL TOWN
P.O. Box 187
Wetumka, OK 74883
405-452-3987
405-452-3968 FAX
WEB SITE: www.alabama-quassarte.org
MR. TARPIE YARGEE, CHIEF
E-MAIL: chief@alabama-quassarte.org.  
Mr. Robert Yargee, SECOND CHIEF AND NAGPRA COORDINATOR
E-MAIL: aqttculture@yahoo.com

Back to top

CADDO NATION
P.O. Box 487
Binger, OK 73009
405-656-2344
405-656-2892 FAX
WEB SITE: www.caddonation-nsn.gov
MS. BRENDA SHEMAYNE EDWARDS, CHAIRPERSON
E-MAIL: bgedwards@caddonation.org
Mr. Robert Cast, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Phone:  405-656-2901
E-mail:  rcast@caddonation.org
Ms. Mary Botone, THPO/NAGPRA Assistant
E-mail: m.botone@caddonation.org
Mr. Trevor Ware, NAGPRA Coordinator
E-mail:  t.ware@caddonation.org  

Back to top

CHEROKEE NATION OF OKLAHOMA
P. O. Box 948
Tahlequah, OK 74465
Physical Address (Overnight Mail): 17675 S. Muskogee
Tahlequah, OK 74465
918-453-5000 or 1-800-256-0671
918-458-5580 FAX
WEB SITE: www.cherokee.org
MR. CHAD SMITH, PRINCIPAL CHIEF
E-MAIL: chad-smith@cherokee.org
MR. JOE GRAYSON, JR., DEPUTY CHIEF
E-MAIL: joe-grayson@cherokee.org
DR. RICHARD ALLEN, POLICY ANALYST AND NAGPRA/SECTION 106 REVIEW CONTACT
PHONE: 918-453-5466
E-MAIL: Richard-Allen@cherokee.org

Back to top

THE CHICKASAW NATION
P.O. Box 1548
Ada, OK 74821-1548
580-436-2603
580-436-7297 FAX
WEB SITE: www.chickasaw.net
MR. BILL ANOATUBBY, GOVERNOR
MR. JEFFERSON KEEL, LT. GOVERNOR
E-mail:  lt.gov.@chicksaw.net
Ms. Ladonna Brown, Historic Preservation Officer
E-mail:  ladonna.brown@chickasaw.net
Phone:  580-436-2603 ext. 62023             
Ms. Gingy Nail, Asst. Historic Preservation Officer
Phone:  580-559-0817
Fax:  580-272-5327
E-mail:  gingy.nail@chickasaw.net

Back to top

CHOCTAW NATION OF OKLAHOMA
P.O. Box 1210
Durant, OK 74702-1210
580-924-8280 or 1-800-522-6170
580-920-3181 FAX
WEB SITE: www.choctawnation.com
MR. GREGORY E. PYLE, CHIEF
E-mail:  chiefpyle@choctawnation.com
Mr. Gary Batton, Assistant Chief                          
Dr. Ian Thompson, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer & NAGPRA Program Coordinator
Phone:  580-924-8280 EXT. 2216
E-mail:  ithompson@chowtawnation.com
Ms. Johnnie Jacobs, NHPA Section 106 Review Coordinator
E-mail: jjacobs@choctawnation.com
Mr. Olin Williams, Senior Heritage Resource Technician

Back to top

THE DELAWARE NATION
P.O. Box 825
Anadarko, OK 73005
405-247-2448
405-247-9393 FAX
WEB SITE: www.delawarenation.com
Mr. C.J. Watkins, Acting President
E-mail:  nhorn@delawarenation.com
Phone:  405-247-2448 EXT. 127
Mrs. Tamara Francis-Fourkiller, NAGPRA/Cultural Preservation Director
Phone:  405-247-2448 EXT. 1203                       
E-mail:  tfrancis@delawarenation.com
Mr. Jason Ross, Section 106 Assistant
E-mail:  jross@delawarenation.com
MR. JASON ROSS, SECTION 106 ASSISTANT
E-MAIL: jross@delawarenation.com

Back to top

EASTERN SHAWNEE TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA
P.O. Box 350
Seneca, MO 64865
918-666-2435 or 1-866-674-3786
918-666-2186 FAX
MS. GLENNA J. WALLACE, CHIEF
Phone:  918-666-2435 EXT. 1820
E-mail:  gjwallace@estoo.net
Ms. Robin Dushane, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Office:  Ex. 918-666-2435 1845
Business Cell:  918-533-4104
E-mail:  rdushane@estoo.net

Back to top

JENA BAND OF THE CHOCTAW INDIANS
P.O. Box 14
Jena, LA 71432
318-992-2717
318-992-8244 FAX
WEB SITE: www.jenachoctaw.org
Ms. Cheryl Smith, Principal Chief
E-mail:  cheryljbc@yahoo.com
Ms. Dana Masters, Culture Heritage Director
Phone:  318-992-1205

Back to top

KIALEGEE TRIBAL TOWN
P.O. Box 332
Wetumka, OK 74883
405-452-3262
405-452-3413 FAX
Web Site:  none at this time          
Mr. Jeremiah Hobia, Mekko (Town King)
Mr. Jeremiah Hobia Section 106 Review Coordinator
E-mail: jeremiah.hobia@kialegeetribe.net
Ms. Sarah Altman, Environmental Issues
E-mail: Sarah.altman@kialegeetribe.net

Back to top

MISSISSIPPI BAND OF CHOCTAW INDIANS
P.O. Box 6010
Choctaw, MS 39350 or
101 Industrial Road
Choctaw, MS 39350
601-656-5251
601-650-7333 FAX (ADMINISTRATION)
WEB SITE: www.choctaw.org
Ms.  Phyliss J. Anderson, Chief
E-mail:  PAnderson@choctaw.org
Phone:  601-656-5251 EXT: 1550
Mr. Kenneth H. Carleton, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer/Archeologist
E-mail:  KCarleton@choctaw.org
Phone:  601-650-7316

Back to top

MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION OF OKLAHOMA
P.O. Box 580
Okmulgee, OK 74447
918-756-8700 or 1-800-482-1979 or 918-732-7600 or 918-732-7827
918-758-1434 (ADMINISTRATION)
WEB SITE: www.muscogeecreeknation.gov
Mr. George Tiger, Principal Chief
800-482-1979, ext. 7605 or 918-732-7605
E-mail:  gtiger@mcn-nsn.gov
Mr. Emman Spain, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
800-482-1979 ext. 7678 or 918-732-7731
E-MAIL: tisham@muscogeenation-nsn.gov

Back to top

THE OSAGE NATION
P.O. Box 779
Pawhuska, OK 74056
Physical Address: 627 Grandview
Pawhuska, OK 74056
918-287-5555
918-287-5562 FAX
Museum: 918-287-5222
WEB SITE: www.osagetribe.com
MR. JOHN D. RED EAGLE, PRINCIPAL CHIEF
E-MAIL: jredeagle@osagetribe.org
MR. SCOTT BIGHORSE, ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL CHIEF
E-MAIL: sbighorse@osagetribe.org
Ms. Rebecca Brave, Acting Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Phone: (918) 287-5522
Mobile: (918) 331-8018
E-mail:
rbrave@osagetribe.org
Mr. James Munkres, Archeologist
Phone:  (918) 287-5226
Mobile:  (918) 331-8660
E-mail:  jmunkres@osagetribe.org

Back to top

QUAPAW TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA
Tribal Headquarters:
P.O. Box 765
Quapaw, OK 74363-0765
918-542-1853 or 1-888-642-4724, ext, 2441
918-542-4694 FAX
WEB SITE: www.quapawtribe.com
MR. JOHN BERREY, TRIBAL CHAIRPERSON
E-mail:  jberrey@ogahpah.com
Mr. Everett Bandy, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
E-mail:  ebandy@quapawtribe.com
Phone: 918-641-4724 Ex. 252

Back to top

SEMINOLE NATION OF OKLAHOMA
P.O. Box 1498
Wewoka, OK 74884
405-257-7200
405-257-7209 FAX
WEB SITE: www.seminolenation.com
MR. LEONARD M. HARJO, PRINCIPAL CHIEF
E-mail:  chiefprincipal@sno-nsn.gov
Ms. Ella Colman, Assistant Chief
Mrs. Natalie (Deere) Harjo, Historic Preservation Officer
E-mail:  harjo.n@sno-nsn.gov
Phone:  405-303-2852 Ex. 7001
Ms. Jennifer Johnson, Cultural Resource Officer
Phone:  405-220-2971
Ms. Janet Johnson Cultural Resource Officer
Phone:  405-382-2445

Back to top

SHAWNEE TRIBE OF OKLAHOMA
P.O. Box 189
Miami, OK  74355
Phone:  918-542-2441
Fax:  918-542-2922
Web Site:  www.shawnee-tribe.com
Mr. Ron Sparkman, Chief
E-mail:   shawneetribe@shawnee-tribe.com
Ms. Kim Jumper, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
E-mail:  kim.jumper@shawnee-tribe.com
Ms. Jodi Hayes, Tribal Administrator, NAGPRA
E-mail:  www.shawnee-tribe@shawnee-tribe.com

Back to top

THLOPTHLOCCO TRIBAL TOWN
P.O. Box 188
Okemah, OK 74859
918-560-6198
918-623-0045 FAX
WEB SITE: http://tttown.org
MR. GEORGE SCOTT, TOWN KING
E-mail:  gscott@tttown.org
Mr. Edward Mouss, Tribal Administrator
Phone:  918-560-6131
Ms. Barbara Welborn, Historic Preservation Officer
E-mail:  bcwelborn@sbcglobal.net

TUNICA-BILOXI TRIBE OF LOUISIANA, INC.
151 Melacon Drive
Marksville, LA 71351
318-253-9767
318-253-9791 FAX
WEB SITE: www.tunica.org
MR. EARL J. BARBRY, SR., TRIBAL CHAIRMAN
E-mail: earljbarbrysr@tunica.org
Ms. Barbara Barbry (Mr. Barbry’s Administrative Assistant
E-mail:  barbarabarbry@tunica.org
Mr. Earl J. Barbry, Jr., Tribal Historic Preservation Officer and Museum Administrator
Phone:  318-253-8174
E-mail:  earlii@tunica.org Back to top

UNITED KEETOOWAH BAND OF CHEROKEE INDIANS
P.O. Box 746
Tahlequah, OK 74465
918-456-6533
918-431-1873 FAX
WEB SITE: www.unitedkeetoowahband.org
MR. GEORGE WICKLIFFE, CHIEF
MR. CHARLES LOCUST, ASSISTANT CHIEF
MS. LISA LARUE BAKER, ACTING HISTORIC PRESERVATION COORDINATOR
PHONE: PHONE: 918-772-4389
E-MAIL: UKBTHPO-larue@yahoo.com

Back to top

WICHITA & AFFILIATED TRIBES
P.O. Box 729
Anadarko, OK 73005
405-247-2425
405-247-2430 FAX
WEB SITE: www.wichitatribe.com
Ms.Terri Parton, President
E-mail:  terri.parton@wichitatribe.com
Mr. Sam Caruso, Tribal Administrator
E-mail: sam.caruso@wichitatribe.com
Mr. Gary McAdams, Cultural DIrector
E-mail:  gary.mcadams@wichitatribe.com
Phone: 405-247-2425 Ex. 169

Back to top

 




Copyright ©2014 Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Web Services by Aristotle Web Design.