10 Arkansas Properties Nominated to National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 03, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program nominated 10 Arkansas properties in seven counties to the National Register of Historic Places when it met August 2.

Properties nominated to the National Register are:

* Darragh Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, a 1958-59 Mid-Century Modern-style building

* Governor’s Mansion Historic District Boundary Expansion at Little Rock in Pulaski County, adding 87 buildings to the district, most built between 1918 and 1967

* Dr. Charles H. Kennedy House in North Little Rock in Pulaski County, a 1964 hexagonal house designed by Warren Segraves

* West-Blazer House near Jacksonville in Pulaski County, a ca. 1912 vernacular building with Craftsman-style details

* Scull Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County, built ca. 1928 in the Craftsman style of architecture featuring ornamental concrete blocks

* Jewel Bain House #4 at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County, built around 1965 and exhibiting Japanese architectural characteristics

* Arkansas Research Test Station near Caddo Gap in Montgomery County, used between 1965 and 1969 to test advanced communications technology

* Johnson-Portis House at West Memphis in Crittenden County, built 1936-1938 and designed in the Tudor Revival style of architecture

* Pernot House at Van Buren in Crawford County, built between 1900 and 1904 and mingling several architectural styles

* Memorial Stadium at El Dorado in Union County, a 1946 concrete structure designed by architect John Abbot.

The board listed the Bush House at Hot Springs in Garland County, Linwood Cemetery at Paragould in Greene County, and the YWCA Building and American Legion Building-TAC House at El Dorado in Union County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


historic Arkansas properties Barney Elias House Main Street Searcy Booneville Historical Preservation Society Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pulaski County Courthouse Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Walks Through History U.S. Forest Service Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Design Network Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Marked Tree Arkansas Rosston Arkansas cemetery preservsation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance Historic County Courthouses Ozark Farming slipcover removal grants Arkansas Railroad History Clarendon Arkansas National Register of Historic Little Rock Central High School Tudor Revival Architecture steel window restoration workshop 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Russellville Arkansas Camden Public Library Ouachita County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Montgomery County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Civilian Conservation Corps Sunken Lands Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Business History Saline County Arkansas News Release Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Lesson Plan Pope County Courthouse Miller County Skillern House Conway County Library International-Style Architecture Art Deco Architecture Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Downtown Revitalization Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Dr. Ruth Hawkins Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Naturalistic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Abolition of Slavery Main Street Texarkana Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas History Lesson Plans Benton Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation 19th Century Road Construction Mississippi Main Street Association Duck Hunting Doddridge Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Dionicio Rodriguez Delta Cultural Center Mid-Century Modern Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Paris Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau Evelyn Gill Walker House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South North Little Rock Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers cemetery preservation Newton County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Pike County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown economic development Freedom Park Monroe County Arkansas Houston Arkansas African American education Burdette Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas History Turner Restoration Madison County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 13th Amendment Morrilton Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Civil Works Administration Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic telephone booth free history tours Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Roe Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Rosenwald Schools Cumberland Presbyterian Church Booneville Arkansas Buffalo National River White County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture Elias Camp Morris Main Street Siloam Springs Phillips County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Pike County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Helena Arkansas Burdette Plantation Henry Koen Office Building Perry County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Polk County Arkansas Main Street Ozark historic architecture Cemetery Preservation Library National Historic Landmark Free Courthouse Poster Renaissance Revival Architecture downtown revitalization St. Francis County Historical Society historic resort communities Tolbert Gill Prairie County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Wingmead Bogg Springs Hotel American Legion Centennial Baptist Church Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Arkansas Flood Control Fayetteville Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas religious history Rustic Architecture Sandwiching in History