12 Arkansas Properties to be Considered for National Register Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, July 19, 2018

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 12 Arkansas properties in eight counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets beginning at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, August 1, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for nomination to the National Register are:

* Thomas Gray Building, Block Realty Building, Garland Elementary School and Cecil M. Buffalo, Jr., House at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* Bold Pilgrim Cemetery near Overcup in Conway County

* Moro Bay Ferry at Moro Bay in Bradley County

* Voorhees School at Clarksville in Johnson County

* Dr. Neil Crow, Sr., House at Fort Smith in Sebastian County

* William Jasper Johnson House at Bull Shoals in Marion County

* Meadow Spring Historic District at Fayetteville in Washington County

* Clay County Courthouse, Western District, at Corning and Clay County Courthouse, Eastern District, at Piggott in Clay County.

The board will consider the Levon Helm Boyhood Home at Marvell in Phillips County, the Brown Duke Diner near Magnolia in Columbia County and the Old Galatia Church near Norfork in Baxter County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Doddridge Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery New Century Club of Camden Cemetery Preservation Library American Legion Henry Koen Office Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church Nevada County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Camden Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Design Network Pike County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Monroe County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Main Street Searcy Tudor Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Pulaski County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands free history tours free teacher resources Wingmead 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Humanities Council Forrest City Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Siloam Springs Pope County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Prairie County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Camden Public Library Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Business History National Historic Landmark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Freedmen's Bureau Benton Arkansas Rustic Architecture Burdette Plantation Civilian Conservation Corps North Little Rock Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Flood Control Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Historic County Courthouses Main Street Dumas News Release Mississippi County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Evelyn Gill Walker House Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown revitalization Historic Preservation Alliance Buffalo National River Monsanto Chemical Corporation Burdette Arkansas White County Courthouse Skillern House historic resort communities Monroe County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History historic telephone booth Little Rock Central High School Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Craftsman style architecture historic Arkansas properties Rosenwald Schools Abolition of Slavery Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Marked Tree Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Barney Elias House Ozark Farming Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Trail of Tears in Arkansas Miller County Free Lesson Plan Main Street Ozark Tolbert Gill Arkansas religious history Duck Hunting cemetery preservation Naturalistic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Civil Works Administration 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation slipcover removal grants African American education Walks Through History Conway County Library Montgomery County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants St. Francis County Historical Society most endangered historic places Sandwiching in History Main Street Batesville Louisiana Main Street program Perry County Arkansas historic architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown economic development Free Courthouse Poster Turner Restoration U.S. Forest Service Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Mississippi Main Street Association Poinsett County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Huntsville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Newton County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Freedom Park "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas History Pike County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Erbie Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Delta Cultural Center Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Rosston Arkansas 13th Amendment Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Forrest City Cemetery National Register of Historic Renaissance Revival Architecture Madison County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Destination Downtown Conference steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Kiblah School Arkansas History Lesson Plans cemetery preservsation Roe Arkansas