14 Properties to be Considered for National Register Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 22, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 14 Arkansas properties in nine counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 5, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Lake Nixon, Gay Oil Company Building and Martin Cemetery, Historic Section at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* Hot Springs National Guard Armory at Hot Springs in Garland County

* Batesville Commercial Historic District Expansion at Batesville in Independence County

* McLean Hall at Clarksville in Johnson County

* Home Ice Company at Jonesboro in Craighead County

* Leslie Commercial Historic District at Leslie in Searcy County

* Rumph Mortuary, Barton Library and Henley-Riley Historic District at El Dorado in Union County

* Bethel Cemetery near Crossett in Ashley County

* Vernon Fitzhugh House and Warren Seagraves House at Fayetteville in Washington County.

The board will also consider Superior Savings and Loan at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, Scott Cemetery near Walnut Ridge in Lawrence County and Ritter House at Jonesboro in Craighead County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Historic Preservation Newton County Arkansas cemetery preservation Three States Lumber Company Erbie Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Historic County Courthouses Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Siloam Springs Art Deco Architecture free history tours Rosston Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Tudor Revival Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Abolition of Slavery Main Street Batesville historic Arkansas properties Main Street Dumas Arkansas Business History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council National Register of Historic Kiblah School Arkansas Design Network Pope County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Doddridge Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Turner Restoration Polk County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Alliance Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Fayetteville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Civilian Conservation Corps Madison County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Houston Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Camden Public Library Wingmead St. Francis County Historical Society Let Freedom Ring downtown revitalization U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Saline County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas Buffalo National River Main Street Searcy Freedom Park Clarendon Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Humanities Council Nevada County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Civil Works Administration New Century Club of Camden Main Street Ozark Morrilton Arkansas Helena Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Destination Downtown Conference Miller County Pope County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Burdette Plantation Leake-Ingham Building Forrest City Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse News Release historic telephone booth historic architecture Sandwiching in History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Ozark Farming Camden Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Dr. Ruth Hawkins Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development Edgar Monsanto Queeny Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free teacher resources Forrest City Cemetery Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Benton Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library U.S. Forest Service "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Camden to Washington Road Downtown Revitalization Grants Walks Through History Prairie County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster slipcover removal grants most endangered historic places Monroe County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas History Main Street Texarkana Flood Control Booneville Historical Preservation Society Russellville Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Monroe County Courthouse Barney Elias House Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau County courthouse Restoration Grants 13th Amendment 19th Century Road Construction Sunken Lands Booneville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 American Legion Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Henry Koen Office Building Elias Camp Morris Arkansas religious history Phillips County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards historic resort communities Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax International-Style Architecture Skillern House Bogg Springs Arkansas White County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Duck Hunting Roe Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Delta Cultural Center African American education Arkansas Railroad History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas African American Civil War History Mid-Century Modern Architecture steel window restoration workshop National Register of Historic Places Gothic Revival architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Tolbert Gill Free Lesson Plan Renaissance Revival Architecture Paris Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas