16 Arkansas Properties to be Considered for Listing on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 16 Arkansas properties in nine counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 1, in Room 170 at 323 Center Street in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Esso Standard Oil Service Station at Little Rock in Pulaski County
* Kocourek and Son Hardware at Hazen in Prairie County
* First Lutheran Church at Hot Springs in Garland County
* West Church Street Historic District and Moose Addition Neighborhood Boundary Increase at Morrilton in Conway County
* Dr. John Grace House and Hospital at Belleville in Yell County
* Tyronza Methodist Episcopal Church South at Tyronza in Poinsett County
* Vest Cemetery near Boswell in Izard County
* Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #1, Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #3, David and Mary Margaret Durst House at Fayetteville in Washington County
* Billings-Cole House at Malvern in Hot Spring County
* Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth and Prairie Grove Cemetery, Historic Section, at Prairie Grove in Washington County
* Wilson High School Gymnasium and Wilson Community Club House at Wilson in Mississippi County.  

The board also will consider the Old Kia Kima Camp at Cherokee Village in Sharp County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. 

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Dionicio Rodriguez Destination Downtown Conference Newton County Arkansas Arkansas religious history historic architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants North Little Rock Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris free historic preservation workshop Pope County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop St. Francis County Historical Society Pope County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery most endangered historic places Arkansas Business History Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedmen's Bureau National Register of Historic Places Trail of Tears in Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction free history tours Freedom Park Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion Gothic Revival architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Rustic Architecture Madison County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Humanities Council Booneville Historical Preservation Society Henry Koen Office Building Leake-Ingham Building Let Freedom Ring Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Design Network Main Street Ozark Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Historic Landmark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas African American Civil War History Conway County Library Prairie County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Ouachita County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Delta Cultural Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Erbie Arkansas Benton Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Skillern House Arkansas Register of Historic Places Miller County historic Arkansas properties Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance Three States Lumber Company Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Burdette Arkansas Barney Elias House Bogg Springs Hotel Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster U.S. Forest Service Folk Victorian Architecture Sandwiching in History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Burdette Plantation Tolbert Gill Arkansas History Lesson Plans Nevada County Arkansas free teacher resources Art Deco Architecture Main Street Searcy cemetery preservsation New Century Club of Camden Camden Public Library Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Huntsville Commercial Historic District cemetery preservation Houston Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Duck Hunting Historic County Courthouses Fayetteville Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Russellville Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Morrilton Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Huntsville Arkansas Flood Control Montgomery County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Wingmead African American education Buffalo National River Main Street Batesville White County Courthouse Evelyn Gill Walker House News Release Pike County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Little Rock Central High School slipcover removal grants Camden to Washington Road Marked Tree Arkansas historic telephone booth Booneville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Helena Arkansas downtown economic development Rosston Arkansas downtown revitalization Paris Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Naturalistic Architecture Camden Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Free Lesson Plan Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Louisiana Main Street program Ozark Farming Pike County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Railroad History International-Style Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission 13th Amendment Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Craftsman style architecture Turner Restoration Walks Through History Arkansas History Main Street Dumas Sunken Lands Saline County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture