18 Arkansas Properties to be Considered for National Register Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 21, 2018

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 18 Arkansas properties in 13 counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets beginning at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, April 4, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for nomination to the National Register are:

* Mosaic Templars State Temple and Fulk-Arkansas Democrat Building at Little Rock and Carmichael House in the Landmark community in Pulaski County

* Cleveland Arms at Hot Springs in Garland County

* Washington Street Historic District Boundary Increase at Camden in Ouachita County

* Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Barracks Buildings and Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Administration Building at East Camden in Calhoun County

* Mount Salem Church and School near Paris in Logan County

* C.A. Stuck and Sons Lumber Office Building at Jonesboro in Craighead County

* Lockesburg Gymnasium at Lockesburg in Sevier County

* Nevada County Courthouse at Prescott in Nevada County

* Goodwin Field Administration Building at El Dorado in Union County

* Eureka Springs Cemetery at Eureka Springs in Carroll County

* Deepwood House at Fayetteville in Washington County

* Prairie Grove Commercial Historic District and North Mock Street Commercial Historic District at Prairie Grove in Washington County

* Carpenter Building at Gentry in Benton County

* Farm #266 (Johnny Cash Boyhood Home) at Dyess in Mississippi County.

The board will consider Lines Cemetery near Preston in Faulkner County, Petit Jean Mountain Cemetery near Winrock in Conway County, Dierks Lumber Company Building at Mountain Pine in Garland County, Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Laundry Building at East Camden in Calhoun County, Ellis Building at Fayetteville and Harrell Cemetery near Cincinnati in Washington County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Kiblah School Forrest City Cemetery Walks Through History Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Poinsett County Arkansas Ozark Farming Main Street Batesville Monroe County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Prairie County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Dumas historic telephone booth Arkansas Historic Preservation National Historic Landmark Main Street Ozark Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot News Release Cumberland Presbyterian Church Phillips County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Camden Public Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pulaski County Courthouse 13th Amendment St. Francis County Historical Society cemetery preservation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Searcy Miller County Arkansas History Lesson Plans Three States Lumber Company Louisiana Main Street program Marked Tree Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Turner Restoration Pope County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedom Park Delta Cultural Center Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Rosenwald Schools Duck Hunting Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Fayetteville Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House 19th Century Road Construction Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Central High School Rosston Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District slipcover removal grants New Century Club of Camden Civilian Conservation Corps Bogg Springs Arkansas White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Business History Henry Koen Office Building free historic preservation workshop Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants cemetery preservsation historic architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Newton County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Doddridge Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Sandwiching in History Benton Arkansas African American education Pike County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Huntsville Commercial Historic District Leake-Ingham Building Clarendon Arkansas Barney Elias House County courthouse Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery Arkansas African American Civil War History Perry County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Montgomery County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Buffalo National River Main Street Arkansas Flood Control downtown revitalization North Little Rock Arkansas Camden Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Russellville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Helena Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Renaissance Revival Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Gothic Revival architecture Erbie Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture International-Style Architecture free teacher resources Central High School Neighborhood Historic District free history tours Mississippi Main Street Association American Legion Mississippi County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Morrilton Arkansas Skillern House Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Polk County Arkansas most endangered historic places Main Street Texarkana Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Booneville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Arkansas History Free Courthouse Poster Civil Works Administration National Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture Arkansas Design Network Monroe County Arkansas Conway County Library Houston Arkansas historic resort communities Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Roe Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Free Lesson Plan Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South downtown economic development Wingmead Saline County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Sunken Lands Destination Downtown Conference Forrest City Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Madison County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission