2018 Historic Film Prize Competition for Students Now Open

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 25, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is accepting entries for the 2018 Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize, a contest for Arkansas high school students producing short films about historic properties in the state.

The Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.” The documentaries must be from five to 15 minutes long and can be based on any historic Arkansas properties that are at least 50 years old. The deadline for submissions is March 30, 2018, and instructions for entering the competition can be found at

Winners of the competition will be shown at the Ron Robinson Theater in Little Rock on May 15, 2018, and winning filmmakers will receive cash prizes. Details are available at

For more information, contact AHPP Education Outreach Coordinator Amy Milliken at (501) 324-9786 or [email protected]. For any questions about AETN Student Selects please contact Casey Sanders at (501) 682-4190 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Rosston Arkansas Kiblah School downtown economic development Arkansas Design Network historic telephone booth Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Arkansas Walks Through History Pulaski County Courthouse Sunken Lands County courthouse Restoration Grants Booneville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Hotel Pope County Courthouse Main Street Searcy Cumberland Presbyterian Church Phillips County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Conway County Library downtown revitalization Arkansas Register of Historic Places Duck Hunting Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Lesson Plans New Century Club of Camden Historic County Courthouses most endangered historic places Arkansas religious history Leake-Ingham Building Three States Lumber Company cemetery preservation Polk County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monsanto Chemical Corporation Camden Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Free Courthouse Poster Freedmen's Bureau Rosenwald Schools Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Louisiana Main Street program Edgar Monsanto Queeny Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Poinsett County Arkansas Flood Control National Register of Historic Arkansas Preservation Awards News Release Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic Places slipcover removal grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture Abolition of Slavery Elias Camp Morris Dionicio Rodriguez Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Siloam Springs Sandwiching in History Saline County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Helena Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Roe Arkansas Burdette Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic Arkansas properties African American education Gothic Revival architecture Henry Koen Office Building American Legion Let Freedom Ring Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Folk Victorian Architecture Madison County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Barney Elias House Tolbert Gill White County Courthouse National Historic Landmark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Business History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Real Estate Transfer Tax Fayetteville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Civil Works Administration Ozark Farming 19th Century Road Construction Renaissance Revival Architecture Craftsman style architecture Houston Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monroe County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road International-Style Architecture historic architecture Morrilton Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Burdette Plantation Miller County historic resort communities 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Historic Preservation Alliance Forrest City Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Mississippi County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Prairie County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Freedom Park Main Street Dumas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Railroad History Nevada County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Destination Downtown Conference U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas History free teacher resources Bogg Springs Arkansas 13th Amendment St. Francis County Historical Society Downtown Revitalization Grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Monroe County Arkansas Camden Public Library Main Street Ozark Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Benton Arkansas free history tours Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Turner Restoration Little Rock Central High School Skillern House cemetery preservsation Pike County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Historic Preservation Wingmead Erbie Arkansas Buffalo National River Civilian Conservation Corps