2018 Historic Places Film Prize Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 11, 2018

Students from Jonesboro, Hot Springs and Fayetteville were the top winners in the fourth annual Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize competition of short documentaries focusing on historic properties throughout the state.

Carolyn Seglem of Jonesboro High School was the grand prize winner for her documentary “Rush Historic District.” The film, along with other prize-winning works, will be shown at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 15, at the Ron Robinson Theater at 100 River Market Avenue in Little Rock as part of “A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which will also feature winners of AETN’s Student Selects competition and winners of Thea Foundation scholarships. The free event is open to the public.

Other Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize winners were:

* First Prize – Chase Hartsell of Lakeside High School in Hot Springs for “Where The Best Milk Grows”

* Second Prize – Ian Linn, Noah Chacon, Collin Schultz and Jordan Giacalone of Fayetteville High School for “Berry on the Square”

* Third Prize – Bella Warner, Obediah Kimmel, Harrison Bradford, Owen Hicks and Luis Ayala of Fayetteville High School for “Wired to the Past: A Vision into the Future”

* Fourth Prize – Anna Wiener of Jonesboro High School for “David O. Dodd”

* Honorable Mention went to Logan Bailey of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts for “Ghosts of Greenwood: Memories of Greenwood Elementary” and Avery Barnett of Jonesboro High School for “Little Rock YMCA.”

The Arkansas Historic Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


cemetery preservsation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Bogg Springs Arkansas Delta Cultural Center free historic preservation workshop Arkansas History Lesson Plans Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Ozark Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic architecture Newton County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Nevada County Arkansas most endangered historic places Rosenwald Schools Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources Wingmead Arkansas religious history U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Places Destination Downtown Conference Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Business History Monroe County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Bogg Springs Hotel historic resort communities Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Freedmen's Bureau Perry County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop New Century Club of Camden Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Walks Through History Prairie County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Mississippi Main Street Association Sunken Lands Free Lesson Plan Naturalistic Architecture National Register of Historic Tudor Revival Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Civil Works Administration Barney Elias House Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House historic telephone booth Ozark Farming Huntsville Commercial Historic District Roe Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas African American Civil War History North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Railroad History Camden to Washington Road slipcover removal grants Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Historic Landmark Kiblah School Buffalo National River Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Batesville 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Searcy Conway County Library Skillern House cemetery preservation Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Texarkana 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Polk County Arkansas International-Style Architecture American Legion Booneville Arkansas Freedom Park Arkansas History downtown economic development Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Craftsman style architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Centennial Baptist Church historic Arkansas properties Pope County Courthouse Houston Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Burdette Arkansas Turner Restoration Let Freedom Ring Burdette Plantation Camden Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Renaissance Revival Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Art Deco Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Pike County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Downtown Revitalization Grants Huntsville Arkansas free history tours Main Street Dumas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas downtown revitalization Fayetteville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Forrest City Cemetery Rosston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Miller County Monroe County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Tolbert Gill Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Design Network St. Francis County Historical Society Henry Koen Office Building Real Estate Transfer Tax Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Camden Public Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Helena Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Benton Arkansas African American education Montgomery County Courthouse News Release White County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Preservation Awards Saline County Arkansas Flood Control Paris Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Pope County Arkansas