AHPP Awards Certified Local Government Grants

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, July 20, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Governor Asa Hutchinson announced today that the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $44,069 in grants for projects in three cities through its Certified Local Government (CLG) Grant program.

CLG grants were awarded to the following cities:

* Dumas, $23,469 for a roof restoration and gutters at the Dumas Area Arts Center Building in the Dumas Commercial Historic District

* El Dorado, $13,500 for a National Register of Historic Places nomination for the Goodwin Field Terminal Building

* Eureka Springs, $7,100 for a National Register nomination for the Eureka Springs Cemetery.

The AHPP’s Certified Local Government Grant program is open to Arkansas cities and counties that contain a historic district commission and a historic district protected by a local ordinance. These grants provide training opportunities to local historic district commissions and can fund other local preservation projects. At least 10 percent of the AHPP’s annual appropriation from the federal Historic Preservation Fund goes to CLG cities as grants for local projects.

There currently are 20 Arkansas cities in the CLG program: Little Rock, North Little Rock, Fort Smith, Van Buren, Hot Springs, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Conway, Pine Bluff, Morrilton, Texarkana, Rogers, Russellville, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Batesville, Benton, Dumas, Osceola and Blytheville. Several others are working to become part of the CLG program.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Perry County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Ozark Pope County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Houston Arkansas slipcover removal grants Tudor Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Miller County historic architecture Main Street Batesville Turner Restoration Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Nevada County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Rustic Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Doddridge Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas downtown economic development free history tours Main Street Texarkana Ouachita County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas religious history Camden Public Library Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Edgar Monsanto Queeny Louisiana Main Street program Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola 13th Amendment Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Roe Arkansas Flood Control Skillern House Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Design Network Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Arkansas African American education County courthouse Restoration Grants White County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Main Street Siloam Springs National Register of Historic Places Main Street Searcy Fayetteville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Wingmead Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Abolition of Slavery Pope County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Morrilton Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Bogg Springs Hotel Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Forrest City Cemetery Burdette Arkansas Tolbert Gill Rosston Arkansas Conway County Library 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Freedom Park historic Arkansas properties Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Business History Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Register of Historic Places Erbie Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Ozark Farming Prairie County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Madison County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Sunken Lands U.S. Forest Service Trail of Tears in Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Camden to Washington Road historic telephone booth Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School free historic preservation workshop Mid-Century Modern Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Evelyn Gill Walker House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Clarendon Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Dumas News Release Craftsman style architecture Arkansas History Polk County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Pulaski County Courthouse Kiblah School Three States Lumber Company Renaissance Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Free Lesson Plan free teacher resources Paris Arkansas historic resort communities Barney Elias House National Historic Landmark most endangered historic places downtown revitalization Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pike County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas History Lesson Plans Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance cemetery preservation Forrest City Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Preservation Awards Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Arkansas Burdette Plantation American Legion Montgomery County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Henry Koen Office Building New Century Club of Camden Walks Through History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Free Courthouse Poster Naturalistic Architecture Rosenwald Schools Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Dionicio Rodriguez Sandwiching in History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Art Deco Architecture