AHPP Cemetery Preservation Lecture, Demonstration Set for Delight

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 08, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, March 24, at the Delight School Campus Gymnasium at 623 Cherry Street, followed by a hands-on gravestone cleaning demonstration.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. The lecture will be followed with a gravestone cleaning demonstration at Delight Cemetery.

The program is co-sponsored by the Pike County Extension Office and the East Delight Homemakers Club. For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], Ginny Evans at(479) 264-2494, or the extension office at (870) 285-2161.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Mosaic Templars Cultural Center St. Francis County Historical Society Rosston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas History Main Street Batesville Arkansas Humanities Council Benton Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Little Rock Central High School Three States Lumber Company Madison County Arkansas Ozark Farming Phillips County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Duck Hunting free historic preservation workshop County courthouse Restoration Grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Historic Preservation Freedmen's Bureau Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Business History Free Lesson Plan Camden Public Library Doddridge Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic resort communities Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Prairie County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Louisiana Main Street program Pope County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Freedom Park Burdette Plantation Elias Camp Morris Craftsman style architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Russellville Arkansas free teacher resources Helena Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas National Register of Historic Places U.S. Forest Service Delta Cultural Center Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Turner Restoration National Historic Landmark Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Register of Historic Arkansas Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Courthouse 13th Amendment Monroe County Arkansas Conway County Library 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Railroad History Bogg Springs Hotel free history tours Let Freedom Ring Miller County historic architecture African American education Monroe County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Poinsett County Arkansas American Legion Booneville Historical Preservation Society Paris Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Polk County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas religious history Destination Downtown Conference Sunken Lands Centennial Baptist Church Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Historic Preservation Alliance historic Arkansas properties Huntsville Commercial Historic District International-Style Architecture Historic County Courthouses Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Tudor Revival Architecture Abolition of Slavery Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola cemetery preservation Cemetery Preservation Library Gothic Revival architecture Booneville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road downtown economic development Civilian Conservation Corps Pike County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Erbie Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Buffalo National River Montgomery County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Nevada County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Free Courthouse Poster Skillern House Kiblah School Roe Arkansas Barney Elias House Clarendon Arkansas Sandwiching in History Forrest City Cemetery Huntsville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Civil Works Administration Pope County Courthouse downtown revitalization Camden Arkansas Houston Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Pike County Courthouse News Release Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Flood Control Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic telephone booth Wingmead Rustic Architecture Walks Through History cemetery preservsation Tolbert Gill Burdette Arkansas Saline County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Rosenwald Schools North Little Rock Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Arkansas most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Newton County Arkansas