AHPP Offers Cemetery Preservation Lecture at Morrilton Library

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 24, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the River Valley Genealogical Society at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 9, at the Conway County Library at 101 South Church Street in Morrillton, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. She also will discuss listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places during the free lecture.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or Euna Beavers at (501) 354-4428.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Saline County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Business History 13th Amendment News Release Montgomery County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Abolition of Slavery Craftsman style architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District International-Style Architecture Free Lesson Plan Doddridge Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Tudor Revival Architecture cemetery preservsation Duck Hunting Morrilton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Burdette Plantation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Civil Works Administration Arkansas Design Network National Register of Historic Places Roe Arkansas Benton Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Ozark Wingmead National Historic Landmark Main Street Dumas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Phillips County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building Elias Camp Morris Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Searcy Booneville Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Restoration Grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Ouachita County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Freedom Park Prairie County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Russellville Arkansas White County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Art Deco Architecture Conway County Library Mississippi Main Street Association slipcover removal grants cemetery preservation Huntsville Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Little Rock Central High School Downtown Revitalization Grants Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House Tolbert Gill Newton County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance downtown revitalization Let Freedom Ring Madison County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation African American education Renaissance Revival Architecture Walks Through History Erbie Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Arkansas religious history Main Street Texarkana Rosston Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Three States Lumber Company Kiblah School Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic resort communities Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cemetery Preservation Library Camden Public Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown economic development Destination Downtown Conference Sunken Lands National Register of Historic Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation most endangered historic places free history tours historic telephone booth St. Francis County Historical Society Gothic Revival architecture Paris Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Dionicio Rodriguez Barney Elias House Arkansas Humanities Council Monroe County Courthouse Helena Arkansas historic architecture Pope County Courthouse Booneville Historical Preservation Society free teacher resources Pike County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Pike County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Freedmen's Bureau Marked Tree Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Buffalo National River Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Clarendon Arkansas Polk County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Houston Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Delta Cultural Center Mississippi County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Sandwiching in History Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Arkansas Ozark Farming Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Pope County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs American Legion historic Arkansas properties Perry County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Arkansas Flood Control steel window restoration workshop Miller County Rustic Architecture Camden Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas History