AHPP Offers Free Historic Preservation Coloring Book

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 02, 2018



LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, is offering students free coloring books highlighting sites around the state that are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

“Exploring Arkansas’s Wonder: An Adventure in Historic Preservation” includes such properties as the Jacob Wolf House in Norfork, Louisiana Purchase Survey Marker in Lee County and the Rock Art Sites at Petit Jean State Park. Each page includes facts about the properties and other activities for students.

Copies of the coloring book can be ordered at or by contacting AHPP Education Outreach Coordinator Amy Milliken at (501) 324-9786 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Prairie County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Ozark U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Roe Arkansas Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Clarendon Arkansas Paris Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Camden to Washington Road Art Deco Architecture Madison County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Marked Tree Arkansas Let Freedom Ring International-Style Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Texarkana Ozark Farming Little Rock Central High School Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Walks Through History Main Street Siloam Springs Rosston Arkansas Main Street Searcy slipcover removal grants free teacher resources Phillips County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Erbie Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Elias Camp Morris American Legion Delta Cultural Center Naturalistic Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Civilian Conservation Corps Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Main Street Dumas Arkansas Design Network Polk County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Trail of Tears in Arkansas African American education St. Francis County Historical Society Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel cemetery preservation Pulaski County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Conway County Library Dionicio Rodriguez Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Rustic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax free historic preservation workshop Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown revitalization U.S. Forest Service Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops News Release Pope County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History Lesson Plans Russellville Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Henry Koen Office Building Houston Arkansas downtown economic development historic architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Helena Arkansas Arkansas religious history Craftsman style architecture Sunken Lands Arkansas Historic Preservation historic resort communities cemetery preservsation Camden Public Library Perry County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History most endangered historic places Flood Control Monroe County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Booneville Arkansas Duck Hunting Miller County Turner Restoration Burdette Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Tolbert Gill Booneville Historical Preservation Society steel window restoration workshop Cumberland Presbyterian Church Burdette Plantation Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Buffalo National River Marked Tree Lock and Siphons National Register of Historic Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South County courthouse Restoration Grants National Historic Landmark Arkansas African American Civil War History Wingmead Pope County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pike County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Kiblah School Poinsett County Arkansas Benton Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Barney Elias House Free Lesson Plan Skillern House free history tours White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Centennial Baptist Church historic telephone booth Huntsville Commercial Historic District Three States Lumber Company Arkansas History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedom Park Destination Downtown Conference Monsanto Chemical Corporation Rosenwald Schools Bogg Springs Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Louisiana Main Street program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut