AHPP to Accept Letters of Intent for Grants

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 31, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Anyone interested in applying for funding through the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s County Courthouse Restoration or Historic Preservation Restoration grant programs is encouraged to file a Letter of Intent between September 5 and November 17, 2017.

By filling out a Letter of Intent, an applicant will receive feedback or may receive technical assistance and project development with AHPP staff. Technical assistance and project development may include on-site visits, consultations, explanations, or related printed materials.

The AHPP’s grant programs are:

* County Courthouse Restoration Subgrants, which are financed through Real Estate Transfer Tax funds distributed by the Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council for rehabilitation of historic county courthouses across Arkansas

* Historic Preservation Restoration Grants, which distribute funds raised through the Real Estate Transfer Tax to rehabilitate buildings that are listed on the Arkansas or National Registers of Historic Places and owned by local governments or not-for-profit organizations or for cemetery preservation.

Links to the Letter of Intent form can be found at and

Applications for County Courthouse Restoration Grants will be accepted between November 17, 2017, and February 2, 2018. Applications for Historic Preservation Restoration Grants will be accepted between November 17, 2017, and March 9, 2018. The AHPP will hold a grant application workshop on November 2, 2017, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock. For more information, contact Joia Burton at (501) 324-9883 [email protected].

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Pope County Arkansas Ozark Farming Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas State University Heritage Sites cemetery preservation Destination Downtown Conference Historic County Courthouses Art Deco Architecture News Release Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Benton Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Poinsett County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Booneville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas Roe Arkansas Polk County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Doddridge Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Burdette Plantation Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Register of Historic Places Kiblah School Phillips County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Buffalo National River Perry County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools African American education County courthouse Restoration Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Searcy "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Sunken Lands Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax free history tours Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Craftsman style architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Nevada County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Humanities Council Leake-Ingham Building Free Courthouse Poster Houston Arkansas Sandwiching in History historic Arkansas properties free historic preservation workshop Ouachita County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Monroe County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Pope County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Tudor Revival Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Free Lesson Plan downtown economic development 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Batesville Camden Public Library Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Russellville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Barney Elias House Conway County Library slipcover removal grants White County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas historic telephone booth Huntsville Commercial Historic District Dr. Ruth Hawkins Erbie Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Preservation Awards Elias Camp Morris St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Siloam Springs free teacher resources Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Naturalistic Architecture Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel Dionicio Rodriguez Delta Cultural Center U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Courthouse Prairie County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas historic resort communities Civilian Conservation Corps Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Forrest City Cemetery Morrilton Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Clarendon Arkansas Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot New Century Club of Camden Mosaic Templars Cultural Center steel window restoration workshop historic architecture Burdette Arkansas most endangered historic places Cemetery Preservation Library Tolbert Gill Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Saline County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas History Lesson Plans Abolition of Slavery Pike County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas religious history Arkansas African American Civil War History Freedom Park Helena Arkansas Camden to Washington Road cemetery preservsation Walks Through History Bogg Springs Arkansas American Legion Flood Control Renaissance Revival Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Texarkana Wingmead Arkansas Business History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas History 19th Century Road Construction Let Freedom Ring Turner Restoration Paris Arkansas Skillern House Arkansas Historic Preservation Program downtown revitalization Miller County