AHPP To Hold Cemetery Preservation Programs in Delight

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 12, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and hands-on cemetery preservation workshop in Delight October 12-13.

A free lecture by veteran gravestone conservator Jonathan Appell of Atlas Preservation, Inc., will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, October 12, at the Delight School Campus Gymnasium at 623 Cherry Street. Appell will address the evolution of gravestone architecture in the U.S., gravestone materials and repair techniques. The lecture is co-sponsored by the East Delight Homemakers Club and the Pike County Cooperative Extension Service.

Appell will lead the free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, October 13, at Delight Cemetery on Arkansas Highway 19. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration is limited to 40 people.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Skillern House Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monroe County Courthouse White County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas cemetery preservation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Henry Koen Office Building historic Arkansas properties Rustic Architecture Abolition of Slavery Historic County Courthouses Destination Downtown Conference New Century Club of Camden 13th Amendment Mississippi County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas historic architecture Benton Arkansas Civil Works Administration Forrest City Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture News Release Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Elias Camp Morris County courthouse Restoration Grants U.S. Forest Service Barney Elias House International-Style Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards American Legion Walks Through History Saline County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance downtown revitalization Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Folk Victorian Architecture Conway County Library Little Rock Central High School Edgar Monsanto Queeny Perry County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Burdette Plantation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Montgomery County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot slipcover removal grants Monroe County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Three States Lumber Company Turner Restoration most endangered historic places Newton County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture Miller County Main Street Texarkana Duck Hunting downtown economic development Doddridge Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Wingmead Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Polk County Arkansas Roe Arkansas free history tours Flood Control Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Sandwiching in History National Historic Landmark historic telephone booth free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cemetery Preservation Library Freedom Park "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Buffalo National River Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Evelyn Gill Walker House Marked Tree Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Railroad History Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Camden Arkansas Tolbert Gill Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Madison County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Mosaic Templars Cultural Center St. Francis County Historical Society Downtown Revitalization Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Rosenwald Schools Ozark Farming Main Street Searcy Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Camden to Washington Road Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic resort communities Arkansas religious history Paris Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Centennial Baptist Church Delta Cultural Center Prairie County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas History Lesson Plans Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Business History Main Street Ozark Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Forrest City Cemetery Erbie Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Camden Public Library Arkansas Register of Historic Places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Leake-Ingham Building Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Ouachita County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Kiblah School Art Deco Architecture African American education Arkansas African American Civil War History Let Freedom Ring Louisiana Main Street program Helena Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pulaski County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Sunken Lands Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Register of Historic Places Russellville Arkansas