AHPP To Hold Free Steel Window Restoration Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 04, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free steel window restoration workshop April 10 and 11 in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The workshop will be led by Jim Turner of Turner Restoration of Detroit, Michigan, and will be held at 2323 South Scott Street on April 10 and 11. Students will learn the fundamentals of repair and rehabilitation of traditional residential and commercial steel windows using both traditional and modern restorative methods. The workshop seeks to expand the skills of workers with existing experience and knowledge in the trades. Home owners also may find the training beneficial in repairing and improving the energy efficiency of their steel casement windows.

For more information or to register, contact the AHPP at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected]. The workshop is limited to 15 students.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Forrest City Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse most endangered historic places Centennial Baptist Church steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Design Network Ozark Farming Main Street Ozark Monsanto Chemical Corporation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Rosston Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Prairie County Arkansas free teacher resources Bogg Springs Hotel free history tours Madison County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Historical Preservation Society New Century Club of Camden Dr. Ruth Hawkins News Release Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Arkansas American Legion Let Freedom Ring Paris Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Ouachita County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Historic Preservation Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Trail of Tears in Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Pike County Courthouse 13th Amendment Duck Hunting "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Downtown Revitalization Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Freedmen's Bureau Free Lesson Plan Cemetery Preservation Library Nevada County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Benton Arkansas Craftsman style architecture 19th Century Road Construction Mississippi Main Street Association 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Arkansas Pike County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Free Courthouse Poster Sunken Lands Doddridge Arkansas Wingmead National Historic Landmark Arkansas Business History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Searcy Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic resort communities Booneville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference cemetery preservsation Historic Preservation Alliance Perry County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Barney Elias House Newton County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Rosenwald Schools Flood Control Burdette Plantation Arkansas religious history White County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Phillips County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse historic telephone booth Elias Camp Morris Mississippi County Arkansas downtown revitalization Henry Koen Office Building Pope County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Louisiana Main Street program Historic County Courthouses Walks Through History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Rustic Architecture Main Street Texarkana Erbie Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Kiblah School Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission historic Arkansas properties Saline County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Fayetteville Arkansas Conway County Library Roe Arkansas Buffalo National River Little Rock Central High School Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Skillern House Helena Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Camden Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs U.S. Forest Service National Register of Historic Huntsville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Dumas Three States Lumber Company Freedom Park downtown economic development Civil Works Administration free historic preservation workshop cemetery preservation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture African American education Leake-Ingham Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Abolition of Slavery North Little Rock Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot slipcover removal grants historic architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Register of Historic Places Camden Public Library Morrilton Arkansas Miller County Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden to Washington Road Sandwiching in History Turner Restoration Arkansas History Marked Tree Arkansas