AHPP to Hold Lakeview Historic District Meeting

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 10, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will hold a public meeting at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, April 24, in the Lake View Community Center (school gymnasium) to discuss a possible Lake View Historic District for listing on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant sites.

The meeting is being held at the request of the Lake View Cooperative Association’s Legacy Committee to recognize the Lakeview Resettlement Project, a 1937 community established to assist African American farm families during the Great Depression. The AHPP staff members will explain the National Register program and potential effects and benefits for people living within the district and to answer any questions about the project.

For more information, call Ralph Wilcox or Callie Williams at (501) 324-9880 or send an e-mail message to [email protected] or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Benton Arkansas Delta Cultural Center New Century Club of Camden Free Lesson Plan Burdette Plantation Main Street Dumas Montgomery County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Booneville Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Pike County Arkansas cemetery preservsation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Turner Restoration National Register of Historic Arkansas Historic Preservation Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Rosston Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Polk County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Cumberland Presbyterian Church Poinsett County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association International-Style Architecture Camden Arkansas Ozark Farming Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Kiblah School White County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Phillips County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Leake-Ingham Building Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Business History slipcover removal grants Craftsman style architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Sandwiching in History Arkansas History Walks Through History Morrilton Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Elias Camp Morris downtown economic development Arkansas Preservation Awards Historic Preservation Alliance Let Freedom Ring steel window restoration workshop American Legion Arkansas Register of Historic Places Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pike County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas 13th Amendment Roe Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic County Courthouses historic Arkansas properties Nevada County Arkansas Barney Elias House Sunken Lands free history tours Arkansas Humanities Council Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School Main Street Batesville Huntsville Commercial Historic District Pope County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs historic architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut cemetery preservation Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Texarkana Arkansas History Lesson Plans Burdette Arkansas Miller County Main Street Searcy Duck Hunting Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Free Courthouse Poster Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Dionicio Rodriguez County courthouse Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery National Register of Historic Places Camden Public Library Paris Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Bogg Springs Arkansas Russellville Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Centennial Baptist Church Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic resort communities Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot National Historic Landmark Tolbert Gill Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Louisiana Main Street program Forrest City Cemetery Rustic Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Civil Works Administration Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mississippi County Arkansas News Release U.S. Forest Service Monsanto Chemical Corporation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Three States Lumber Company Houston Arkansas Wingmead Henry Koen Office Building Conway County Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny St. Francis County Historical Society Erbie Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Helena Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Camden to Washington Road Renaissance Revival Architecture free teacher resources Buffalo National River Madison County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins downtown revitalization Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Design Network Freedom Park Forrest City Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Railroad History Flood Control Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Civilian Conservation Corps African American education historic telephone booth Newton County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers