AHPP to Lead Tour of Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 09, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–Rachel Silva, preservation outreach coordinator for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District at Booneville on March 28, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Silva will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District beginning at 9 a.m. on Saturday, March 28. The tour, sponsored by the Booneville Historical Preservation Society and the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum, will begin in front of the Nyberg Building at 87 Reed Road, Highway 116 South. The tour will visit several buildings in the district and will last about two hours. Participants are urged to dress for the appropriate weather and wear comfortable shoes. A cookout will follow the tour, and Anita Reddig, a doctoral candidate at Arkansas State University, will make a presentation on her research into the sanatorium’s history. More information is available at

For information, call Silva at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Siloam Springs Bogg Springs Hotel Turner Restoration Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Kiblah School most endangered historic places White County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Buffalo National River Pulaski County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Sunken Lands Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic resort communities Delta Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Dumas Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Camden Public Library Bogg Springs Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny County courthouse Restoration Grants Pike County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Dr. Ruth Hawkins Miller County 19th Century Road Construction 13th Amendment Pope County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Barney Elias House U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Paris Arkansas Ozark Farming downtown revitalization Arkansas Humanities Council Camden Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Doddridge Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Flood Control Pope County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Houston Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas History Lesson Plans Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Business History Arkansas Historic Preservation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Dionicio Rodriguez Rustic Architecture Freedom Park Walks Through History Evelyn Gill Walker House cemetery preservsation Elias Camp Morris National Historic Landmark Benton Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Henry Koen Office Building Roe Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Nevada County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Main Street Searcy Downtown Revitalization Grants Clarendon Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church National Register of Historic Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Montgomery County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Civilian Conservation Corps steel window restoration workshop Duck Hunting Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance free historic preservation workshop Main Street Ozark African American education free teacher resources Leake-Ingham Building Burdette Arkansas slipcover removal grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Burdette Plantation Conway County Library free history tours Pike County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Abolition of Slavery Destination Downtown Conference Morrilton Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas African American Civil War History Sandwiching in History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Huntsville Commercial Historic District Tolbert Gill Historic County Courthouses Craftsman style architecture Perry County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Skillern House Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Erbie Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Little Rock Central High School U.S. Forest Service Arkansas religious history Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission historic telephone booth Main Street Arkansas Wingmead Russellville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Polk County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Helena Arkansas Saline County Arkansas cemetery preservation American Legion News Release Arkansas Preservation Awards Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association historic architecture historic Arkansas properties Monsanto Chemical Corporation Civil Works Administration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Three States Lumber Company Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Restoration Grants