AHPP to Present Cemetery Iconography Program at Hot Springs Library

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, October 02, 2017

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will present a gravestone iconography lecture in Hot Springs on Tuesday, October 17.

The free lecture – “Flora, Fauna and Faces: Reading Cemetery Symbolism” – will begin at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, October 17, the Garland County Library at 1427 Malvern Avenue in Hot Springs.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or Cori Williams at (501) 623-4161 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 19th Century Road Construction historic architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Polk County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Camden Public Library Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Humanities Council Historic County Courthouses Helena Arkansas Houston Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Conway County Library Freedom Park Skillern House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church U.S. Forest Service Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Wingmead 13th Amendment Benton Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Walks Through History Main Street Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Evelyn Gill Walker House Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Trail of Tears in Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Alliance Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Camden Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas African American Civil War History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers White County Courthouse Main Street Searcy Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation historic resort communities Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Design Network International-Style Architecture Burdette Arkansas African American education Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas downtown revitalization 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free historic preservation workshop Burdette Plantation Arkansas Preservation Awards "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Madison County Arkansas Miller County Poinsett County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel downtown economic development Monroe County Courthouse National Historic Landmark Booneville Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Monroe County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Naturalistic Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Camden to Washington Road Cumberland Presbyterian Church Erbie Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Marked Tree Arkansas Let Freedom Ring free history tours Turner Restoration Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Railroad History Huntsville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps steel window restoration workshop Ouachita County Arkansas Roe Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas Business History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Phillips County Arkansas historic telephone booth Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Kiblah School Renaissance Revival Architecture New Century Club of Camden Delta Cultural Center Pope County Arkansas National Register of Historic Main Street Dumas Rosenwald Schools Free Lesson Plan Tolbert Gill Booneville Historical Preservation Society Elias Camp Morris Craftsman style architecture Newton County Arkansas News Release Perry County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Three States Lumber Company Dionicio Rodriguez Saline County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Sandwiching in History Rosston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Buffalo National River Sunken Lands Prairie County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Arkansas religious history Little Rock Central High School Freedmen's Bureau Free Courthouse Poster Gothic Revival architecture Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Ozark Main Street Siloam Springs Henry Koen Office Building Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mississippi Main Street Association Barney Elias House American Legion National Register of Historic Places Arkansas History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Batesville free teacher resources Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Ozark Farming Pike County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Pope County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Flood Control