AHPP to Present Cemetery Lecture in Forrest City

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 12, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the St. Francis County Historical Society at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 19, in the County Quorum Courtroom of the St. Francis County Courthouse at 313 South Izard Street in Forrest City, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. She also will discuss listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places during the free lecture.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or email [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Delta Cultural Center Camden Public Library Doddridge Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Newton County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Prairie County Arkansas Skillern House historic resort communities Pope County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Trail of Tears in Arkansas Burdette Plantation Flood Control Russellville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Railroad History Rosenwald Schools Cemetery Preservation Library Freedmen's Bureau 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Bogg Springs Arkansas Barney Elias House National Historic Landmark Conway County Library Rosston Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Pike County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Henry Koen Office Building Sandwiching in History Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic telephone booth Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Register of Historic Places Destination Downtown Conference Huntsville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Walks Through History Saline County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Civilian Conservation Corps Turner Restoration Ouachita County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Arkansas Miller County Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Madison County Arkansas downtown revitalization 19th Century Road Construction County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Business History cemetery preservation Evelyn Gill Walker House National Register of Historic slipcover removal grants Kiblah School Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Ozark free teacher resources Main Street Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Fayetteville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans Civil Works Administration St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot most endangered historic places Benton Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Gothic Revival architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society African American education Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Morrilton Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Freedom Park Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Rustic Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monroe County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Let Freedom Ring Clarendon Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House historic architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Dumas Three States Lumber Company Helena Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture Historic County Courthouses Marked Tree Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas News Release New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Wingmead cemetery preservsation Roe Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Texarkana Polk County Arkansas American Legion Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Poinsett County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Paris Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Arkansas religious history Pike County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture downtown economic development White County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Preservation Awards Erbie Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Abolition of Slavery Camden to Washington Road Monroe County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Tolbert Gill Forrest City Cemetery historic Arkansas properties Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Batesville Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Searcy free history tours Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Perry County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Humanities Council Buffalo National River free historic preservation workshop Little Rock Central High School