Alliance seeks Most-Endangered Historic Places Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 29, 2015

Little Rock—The Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas requests your help in identifying endangered historic places that reflect our Arkansas heritage for the 2015 Most Endangered Places List.

The Most Endangered Places list highlights historically and architecturally significant properties throughout the state that are worthy of preservation. The Alliance is soliciting nominations from residents and organizations across Arkansas of buildings, structures, sites and other places to be considered for inclusion in the list. The deadline for submitting a completed nomination is March 13, 2015

The Historic Preservation Alliance launched the Most Endangered Places program in 1999 to raise awareness of the importance of Arkansas’s historic properties to the state’s heritage. The sites reflect threats such as deterioration, neglect, insufficient funds, insensitive public policy and inappropriate development. The Alliance will compile the 2015 list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places from nominations by the public and the list will be announced in May during Arkansas Heritage Month and National Preservation Month.

Previous places listed include the Johnny Cash Family Home in Dyess, the William E. Woodruff House in Little Rock, Arkansas Mound Sites throughout the state, the White River Bridge in Clarendon, the Thompson Building in Hot Springs, African-American Rosenwald Schools and Historic County Courthouses throughout the state.

Criteria considered for inclusion in the list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places includes the degree of a property’s local, state, or national significance; a property’s eligibility for the National or Arkansas Register of Historic Places and the imminence and degree of the threat to the property.

The public is invited to participate in the Most Endangered Places program by nominating properties to the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas’s 2015 list. Nomination information and program guidelines can be found on the HPAA’s website, The property nomination information, photographs and support materials can be submitted via an online form or email. For questions or more information call 501-372-4757, or email [email protected]

The Historic Preservation Alliance works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information about the Alliance and becoming a member, contact Vanessa at 501-372-4757, [email protected], or visit

Recent Posts


Camden Public Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Dumas Polk County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas cemetery preservsation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Turner Restoration Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Duck Hunting Gothic Revival architecture Newton County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Barney Elias House Cemetery Preservation Library Forrest City Cemetery White County Courthouse Main Street Searcy Arkansas religious history Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic telephone booth Rosenwald Schools Kiblah School Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Freedmen's Bureau National Register of Historic Places New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Centennial Baptist Church Huntsville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Flood Control Free Lesson Plan Bogg Springs Arkansas Burdette Plantation Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Arkansas Sandwiching in History African American education Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Preservation Awards Rosston Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture free historic preservation workshop Poinsett County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Monroe County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free history tours Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Business History Leake-Ingham Building Wingmead Elias Camp Morris Skillern House Mississippi County Arkansas free teacher resources Booneville Historical Preservation Society Doddridge Arkansas Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion Delta Cultural Center U.S. Forest Service Little Rock Central High School Historic County Courthouses Civilian Conservation Corps Forrest City Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Pope County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Pike County Courthouse most endangered historic places historic Arkansas properties Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez North Little Rock Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Tolbert Gill Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Perry County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Roe Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Paris Arkansas Miller County Main Street Ozark Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monsanto Chemical Corporation Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Texarkana Fayetteville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Burdette Arkansas National Register of Historic steel window restoration workshop 13th Amendment News Release Dr. Ruth Hawkins Bogg Springs Hotel Pulaski County Courthouse Benton Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Buffalo National River Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas History Three States Lumber Company downtown economic development Phillips County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Russellville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Conway County Library Main Street Batesville Montgomery County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Main Street Siloam Springs historic resort communities Destination Downtown Conference Edgar Monsanto Queeny Walks Through History Camden Arkansas Freedom Park Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Register of Historic Places Trail of Tears in Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Art Deco Architecture cemetery preservation downtown revitalization Ouachita County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture Ozark Farming Saline County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Folk Victorian Architecture