Arkansas Historic Film Prize Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 05, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–Three Washington County students won the grand prize in the third annual Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize competition of short documentaries focusing on historic properties throughout the state.

Caroline McCone, Katelyn Frutiger and Cassie Roberts of Fayetteville High School were the grand prize winners for their documentary “Monte Ne.” The film, along with other prize-winning works, will be shown at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 11, at the Ron Robinson Theater at 100 River Market Avenue in Little Rock as part of “A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which will also feature winners of AETN’s Student Selects competition and winners of Thea Foundation scholarships. The free event is open to the public.

Other Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize winners were:

* First Prize – Chelsea Hidalgo and Nathan Plowman of Springdale District Television for “History of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church”

* Second Prize – Audio/Visual Class at The Delta School in Wilson for “German Prisoners of War in Arkansas”

* Third Prize – Kerry Ferrell, II, Isabel Ritter and Gunner Evans of Hot Springs High School for “John Lee Webb House”

* Fourth Prize – Lana Thurman of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts for “The Old Hospital”

* Honorable Mention went to Brooke Boyd, Shai Cowles and Ella Reynolds of Harrison Junior High School for “Granny Henderson” and to Jessica Pauley of Cabot High School for “On The Other Side of the Tracks.”

The Arkansas Historic Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP, the Arkansas Humanities Council and Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Phillips County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas White County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program steel window restoration workshop International-Style Architecture Freedom Park Russellville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic Arkansas properties Free Courthouse Poster Cumberland Presbyterian Church Morrilton Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Paris Arkansas Rustic Architecture African American education Marked Tree Arkansas Houston Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Edgar Monsanto Queeny Destination Downtown Conference Burdette Arkansas Helena Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 downtown revitalization Arkansas Business History Miller County Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Design Network Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Benton Arkansas Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservation 13th Amendment Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Free Lesson Plan Bogg Springs Hotel Historic Preservation Alliance National Register of Historic County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Historical Preservation Society Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants downtown economic development Delta Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Central High School Roe Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Naturalistic Architecture Madison County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Flood Control Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Texarkana Prairie County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Perry County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Main Street Searcy Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History Dr. Ruth Hawkins Let Freedom Ring Huntsville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas News Release Main Street Ozark Freedmen's Bureau Art Deco Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Camden Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas religious history historic resort communities Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Wingmead free historic preservation workshop Camden to Washington Road Tolbert Gill Booneville Arkansas Ozark Farming Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Batesville Tudor Revival Architecture Duck Hunting Pope County Arkansas Sandwiching in History historic telephone booth Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Plantation Arkansas Historic Preservation Civil Works Administration Monroe County Courthouse free teacher resources Three States Lumber Company Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Rosston Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Barney Elias House Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Elias Camp Morris Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas History Conway County Library Arkansas History Lesson Plans Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Pope County Courthouse Skillern House National Historic Landmark Pike County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Cemetery Preservation Library U.S. Forest Service Sunken Lands 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mississippi County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Railroad History Pulaski County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax most endangered historic places historic architecture Abolition of Slavery Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Walks Through History Downtown Revitalization Grants Buffalo National River Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Turner Restoration Monroe County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Dumas free history tours St. Francis County Historical Society Renaissance Revival Architecture Kiblah School Pike County Courthouse