Arkansas National Register Listings: unique, new listings range from a missile launch site to a historic golf course

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, November 23, 2020


The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced the listing of 15 properties in eight counties to the National Register of Historic Places.


“I was captivated reading this latest round of National Register nominations,” said Stacy Hurst, Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism as well as the state historic preservation officer. “From a Cold War Intercontinental Ballistic Missile launch site to historic bridges and even a golf course, this group of new listings really showcases the historic diversity in our state which we are proud to help document and preserve.”


The properties nominated and accepted for listing to the National Register by county are:


  • Galatia Church, Norfolk vicinity


  • Shaw-Blair House, Lowell


  • Bridge Street Bridge, Jonesboro (Historic Bridges of Arkansas MPS)
  • Fuller-Shannon House, Jonesboro
  • Citizens Bank Building, Jonesboro


  • Titan II ICBM Launch Complex Site 373-9, Vilonia (Cold War Resources Associated with the 308th Strategic Missile Wing in Arkansas MPS)


  • Prescott & Northwestern Railroad Caboose No. 3, Prescott


  • Presbyterian Village, Little Rock
  • Little Rock Fire Station No. 9, Little Rock
  • Fair Park Golf Course, Little Rock


  • Snowball Gymnasium, Snowball


  • Vernon & Moore-McIlroy Produce Warehouse, Fayetteville
  • Hindman Hall Museum, Prairie Grove
  • Woolsey Farmstead Cemetery, Fayetteville
  • Elm Springs Cemetery, Elm Springs

“It is truly a privilege for our team to assist people through the process of listing a property,” said Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Scott Kaufman. “Being included on the National Register of Historic Places is an honor and provides locations with eligibility to apply for certain grants and tax credit programs.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places, including the qualifications, visit

The State Review Board is made up of Acting Chair Bob Kempkes along with Dr. Rodney Harris, Carl Miller Jr., Kelsey Bardwell, Rachel Golden, Andrew Beaupre, Joe Cole and Anne Speed. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst serves as the state’s historic preservation officer. The next meeting is scheduled for 9 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 2, at Arkansas Heritage at 1100 North St. in Little Rock.. A virtual option will be available closer to the event date.

For more information about the National Register, please contact Ralph Wilcox, National Register and survey coordinator, at 501-324-9880.

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is an agency of Arkansas Heritage. AHPP is responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. 


Recent Posts


downtown economic development Erbie Arkansas Arkansas History County courthouse Restoration Grants Gothic Revival architecture free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pike County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill Renaissance Revival Architecture Camden to Washington Road Tudor Revival Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Paris Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Duck Hunting Arkansas Railroad History Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedom Park Main Street Batesville Ouachita County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas religious history Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Flood Control Booneville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Arkansas National Register of Historic Main Street Texarkana New Century Club of Camden Monroe County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Civilian Conservation Corps Real Estate Transfer Tax Fayetteville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Roe Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Downtown Revitalization Grants Centennial Baptist Church Elias Camp Morris 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation historic Arkansas properties Main Street Ozark Arkansas Preservation Awards Walks Through History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Free Courthouse Poster Newton County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Phillips County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Pike County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Nevada County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Turner Restoration Naturalistic Architecture Polk County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas Humanities Council Leake-Ingham Building historic resort communities Pope County Arkansas African American education Poinsett County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Saline County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants White County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Wingmead Conway County Library Little Rock Central High School Cemetery Preservation Library Abolition of Slavery U.S. Forest Service Bogg Springs Hotel Miller County Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Business History News Release Madison County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Three States Lumber Company Mississippi Main Street Association Montgomery County Courthouse historic architecture Civil Works Administration cemetery preservsation Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Cemetery American Legion Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free teacher resources Bogg Springs Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Burdette Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot North Little Rock Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Dumas Delta Cultural Center free history tours Prairie County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Skillern House Perry County Arkansas historic telephone booth Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Buffalo National River Main Street Searcy Folk Victorian Architecture Rustic Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut cemetery preservation Henry Koen Office Building Huntsville Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church International-Style Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Camden Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Camden Public Library Destination Downtown Conference Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Rosston Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Russellville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Sunken Lands Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Design Network U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Free Lesson Plan Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Morrilton Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District 13th Amendment Ozark Farming 19th Century Road Construction Kiblah School Doddridge Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pope County Courthouse Sandwiching in History most endangered historic places Houston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs downtown revitalization Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Barney Elias House