Arkansas National Register Nominees State Board to Meet

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 26, 2019


Arkansas National Register Nominees

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 16 Arkansas properties in 12 counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 3, at the Arkansas State University offices at 501 Woodlane Drive in Little Rock, AHPP Director Scott Kaufman announced today.

The properties being considered for nomination to the National Register are:

  • National Old Line Insurance Company Building in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a 1953-1954 and 1965 International-style office building.
  • Arkansas Territorial Restoration Historic District in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a district significant as an early historic preservation project in the state.
  • Empire Life Insurance Company of America Building in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a notable example of the International style designed by Wittenberg, Delony and Davidson, and built in 1959-1960.
  • Morris House in Lonoke, Lonoke County, a large-scale Mid-Century Modern house built in 1963 and designed by architect Fred Perkins.
  • Central Avenue Historic District Additional Documentation in Hot Springs, Garland County, an update to the National Register nomination for the Central Avenue Historic District.
  • Mt. Olive Cemetery in the Mount Vernon vic., White County, an 1890s African-American cemetery that is still used for burials today.
  • Museum of Automobiles in the Winrock vic., Conway County, a 1964 building by architect Dietrich Neyland that employs an unusual tensile cable structural system.
  • Norwood House in Russellville, Pope County, a 1917 house with Prairie and Craftsman-style characteristics.
  • Jonesboro United States Post Office and Courthouse in Jonesboro, Craighead County, a 1913 post office building designed in the Renaissance style.
  • Temple Beth El Cemetery in Helena-West Helena, Phillips County, a cemetery significant for its associations with Helena’s Jewish community.
  • R. A. Pickens, II, House in Pickens, Desha County, a c.1940 Colonial Revival-style house.
  • Yadkin Church in the Ravenden Springs vic., Randolph County, a c.1894 one-room church that is one of the last vestiges of the Yadkin community.
  • Our Lady of the Ozarks Shrine in the Winslow vic., Crawford County, a significant Catholic pilgrimage site with a 1944 stone church..
  • Muxen Building in the Winslow vic., Crawford County, a 1940s building built to serve as a craft school for local residents.
  • Ben Johnson, II, Homestead District in Fayetteville, Washington County, an early-twentieth-century fruit farm.
  • Ellis Building in Fayetteville, Washington County, a c.1923 automobile sales and service building.

In addition, the State Review Board will also consider the Murphy-Jeffries Building in Little Rock, Gillham School in Gillham, and the Heffelfinger-Freund House in Fayettevillefor nomination to the Arkansas Register.


Recent Posts


Arkansas Design Network free history tours Arkansas History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Monroe County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Booneville Historical Preservation Society Skillern House New Century Club of Camden Turner Restoration Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Siloam Springs Free Courthouse Poster Gothic Revival architecture 19th Century Road Construction Pulaski County Courthouse Wingmead Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Searcy Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana most endangered historic places Civilian Conservation Corps Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown revitalization Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Poinsett County Arkansas historic resort communities Main Street Batesville Polk County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Rustic Architecture Monroe County Courthouse historic architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Business History U.S. Forest Service Tudor Revival Architecture cemetery preservation Leake-Ingham Building National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Newton County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Nevada County Arkansas Helena Arkansas African American education Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Kiblah School Buffalo National River Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden Arkansas Booneville Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas Historic Preservation St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Erbie Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program White County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Pope County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Free Lesson Plan Clarendon Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic telephone booth Sandwiching in History Madison County Arkansas Conway County Library Sunken Lands Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Flood Control Trail of Tears in Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House National Register of Historic Places Elias Camp Morris Bogg Springs Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Forrest City Cemetery Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Edgar Monsanto Queeny Huntsville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Walks Through History Main Street Dumas free teacher resources Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau Doddridge Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Dr. Ruth Hawkins Huntsville Commercial Historic District Paris Arkansas Camden Public Library Mosaic Templars Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Abolition of Slavery Art Deco Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Railroad History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation cemetery preservsation Duck Hunting Barney Elias House International-Style Architecture Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Ouachita County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Ozark Farming Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Historic County Courthouses North Little Rock Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Montgomery County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Three States Lumber Company Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Benton Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas News Release Morrilton Arkansas Delta Cultural Center historic Arkansas properties Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Alliance Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas African American Civil War History Real Estate Transfer Tax Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Centennial Baptist Church American Legion Main Street Ozark Prairie County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Miller County Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2