Arkansas Properties on the National Register of Historic Places: Pike County Courthouse, Murfreesboro

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, February 09, 2015

The Pike County Courthouse at Murfreesboro was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on October 16, 1986. You can read this and other Arkansas National Register nominations at


Located on the Murfreesboro court square, the Pike County Courthouse was constructed in 1932 with funds obtained through a bond issue of fifty-thousand dollars. Employing the finest architects, the structure was built upon the site of three former courthouses. The town’s business district grew to surround this site where Pike County’s political and governmental activity took place. Due to its role in community planning, politics, and government and as the only Art Deco style structure in the area the Pike County Courthouse is an important representative of the history of Pike County.


Built in 1932 at a cost of forty-five thousand six-hundred dollars, the Pike County Courthouse is the fourth structure to serve the area at the county government level.

Pike County was created by an act of the State Legislature in 1833 with the temporary county seat fixed at the home of Pascal C. Sorrells in the town of Zebulon. At a location near where the present structure stands the town built a log courthouse when the town changed its name to Murfreesboro in 1836. In the spring of 1855 the log structure burned, along with all county records to that date. The next courthouse, built in 1856 by contractors Moses and Jackson Brock, was a two-story frame building surmounted by a cupola. In 1895 the frame structure burned along with all records. The second courthouse was replaced by a two-story brick building constructed in 1897 and served the county until it was razed in 1932 to make way for the present structure.

Construction of the Art Deco building was funded through a fifty-thousand dollar bond issue. After its passage the architectural firm of Witt, Siebert and Halsey of Texarkana, Arkansas, was employed to draw plans. In the October 23, 1931, issue of the “Pike County Courier” it was reported that a bid offered by contractors May and Sharp had been accepted and the building reached completion in March of 1932.

Art Deco-inspired courthouses are built throughout the 1930’s in Arkansas. An Art Deco Courthouse much like the Pike County Courthouse stands in the town of DeQueen in Sevier County. Excepting later additions to the Sevier County Courthouse the floor plan is the same as the courthouse in Murfreesboro.

Due to the Pike County Courthouse’s role in county government, its historic location and its distinctive Art Deco Style, the Pike County Courthouse is an important representative of Pike County’s heritage.


Pike County Courier, October 23, 1931, p. 1.

Mr. Hastings Boyd, born July 19, 1910, in Murfreesboro where he now lives.

Recent Posts


downtown revitalization Historic Preservation Alliance Barney Elias House Huntsville Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Freedom Park Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Design Network Poinsett County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Downtown Revitalization Grants Paris Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Arkansas Arkansas History New Century Club of Camden Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Skillern House Pulaski County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture National Register of Historic Bogg Springs Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Forrest City Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Burdette Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library historic resort communities Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservation Folk Victorian Architecture Pike County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Real Estate Transfer Tax Bogg Springs Hotel Evelyn Gill Walker House Destination Downtown Conference Civilian Conservation Corps most endangered historic places Main Street Ozark Duck Hunting Buffalo National River Newton County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Benton Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Central High School Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Naturalistic Architecture Camden Arkansas White County Courthouse downtown economic development Booneville Historical Preservation Society North Little Rock Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Dionicio Rodriguez Renaissance Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Russellville Arkansas Sandwiching in History Sunken Lands Civil Works Administration Monroe County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Houston Arkansas Wingmead Free Courthouse Poster Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Flood Control Prairie County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Humanities Council Three States Lumber Company Madison County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Rosston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Perry County Arkansas African American education Free Lesson Plan Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Batesville Conway County Library Ouachita County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture News Release American Legion Tolbert Gill Abolition of Slavery Rustic Architecture Camden Public Library International-Style Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center National Register of Historic Places Pike County Arkansas historic architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Railroad History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Doddridge Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas religious history Freedmen's Bureau Saline County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Ozark Farming Polk County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Miller County Turner Restoration Main Street Dumas slipcover removal grants Roe Arkansas Walks Through History Mississippi County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas free teacher resources Burdette Plantation 13th Amendment Arkansas Historic Preservation Gothic Revival architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Kiblah School Elias Camp Morris U.S. Forest Service Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden to Washington Road Phillips County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Leake-Ingham Building historic telephone booth Arkansas Business History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free history tours Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Helena Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas State University Heritage Sites 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Dr. Ruth Hawkins County courthouse Restoration Grants Centennial Baptist Church