Celebration Planned February 23 for Prairie D'Ane Battlefield Acquisition

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 14, 2018

The Nevada County Depot and Museum will hold a celebration to accept the deed for an 800-acre tract of the Prairie D’Ane battlefield at Prescott before preparing the site for development as a heritage tourism destination. The celebration will be held at 2 p.m. on Friday, February 23, at First Baptist Church at 201 East Main Street in Prescott.

Dr. Nathan Patrick Hale and his wife, Sue, offered the $1.4 million battlefield site for $900,000, and the Depot and Museum led a fund-raising effort that raised an additional $200,000 to match a $700,000 grant from the American Battlefield Protection Program of the National Park Service. The Civil War Trust, America’s largest non-profit battlefield organization, purchased the property and will deed it to the museum.

“This effort was a tremendous partnership that started with the Hales’ incredibly generous bargain sale of the battle site,” Museum President Paul Ridgell said. “Additional funds from the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Economic Development Commission, the Friends of Nevada County Battlefields Committee, the Sturgis Trust and other businesses, local governments and above all private contributions made this dream a reality. We especially thank the Civil War Trust for its expertise and guidance throughout this purchase. Our next job is to begin developing the battlefield to bring heritage tourists to southwest Arkansas.”

“The Civil War Trust was very pleased to help save this important Arkansas battlefield, continuing the extraordinary partnership between the Trust, state and local government, and private donors, which came together two years ago to save a significant portion of the nearby Elkins’ Ferry battlefield,” Civil War Trust President James O. Lighthizer said.

“I commend the citizens of Prescott and Nevada County for their vision in making this project happen,” Stacy Hurst, state historic preservation officer and director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, said. “They are an example to us all for what it takes to see the importance of preserving our past and taking the steps necessary to make it happen.”

The Nevada County Depot Museum has already commissioned an interpretive plan that will help guide development of the site, as well as 412 acres of the nearby Elkins’ Ferry Battlefield that were acquired in 2016 and other Camden Expedition sites in Clark County. Prairie D’Ane and Elkins’ Ferry are both National Historic Landmarks.

The fighting at Prairie D’Ane took place April 10-12, 1864, as Union troops from Little Rock and Fort Smith tried to join a second Federal army in Louisiana and then invade Texas. A lack of food and resistance from Confederate troops led the Union troops to instead march to Camden in search of supplies. They eventually retreated to Little Rock after suffering heavy casualties in several battles.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Barney Elias House downtown economic development Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Leake-Ingham Building most endangered historic places Arkansas Register of Historic Places Edgar Monsanto Queeny National Register of Historic Places Flood Control free historic preservation workshop Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 19th Century Road Construction Huntsville Arkansas Houston Arkansas historic resort communities Tolbert Gill Skillern House Main Street Searcy Craftsman style architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pike County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Civilian Conservation Corps New Century Club of Camden American Legion Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Historic Preservation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas African American Civil War History Polk County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants News Release Arkansas religious history Russellville Arkansas Roe Arkansas Paris Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Rustic Architecture Conway County Library Miller County Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Preservation Awards downtown revitalization Clarendon Arkansas Helena Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Civil Works Administration Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Forrest City Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas History Buffalo National River Rosenwald Schools Duck Hunting Erbie Arkansas Sunken Lands Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Courthouse Poster County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Cemetery Preservation Library Pope County Courthouse cemetery preservsation African American education Saline County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Pike County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring steel window restoration workshop Rosston Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Batesville Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Montgomery County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance Mississippi County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Huntsville Commercial Historic District Montgomery County Arkansas National Register of Historic Arkansas Design Network Marked Tree Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Business History Camden Public Library Fayetteville Arkansas Turner Restoration Pope County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Abolition of Slavery Monroe County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Burdette Arkansas cemetery preservation U.S. Forest Service White County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Elias Camp Morris Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Booneville Historical Preservation Society Poinsett County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Humanities Council Perry County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic telephone booth Ozark Farming Main Street Texarkana North Little Rock Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South slipcover removal grants Walks Through History Camden to Washington Road International-Style Architecture Kiblah School Main Street Siloam Springs Freedmen's Bureau 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation St. Francis County Historical Society Renaissance Revival Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Forrest City Cemetery Gothic Revival architecture Wingmead free teacher resources Arkansas Railroad History Camden Arkansas Freedom Park Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Lesson Plan Benton Arkansas National Historic Landmark Naturalistic Architecture Art Deco Architecture free history tours Three States Lumber Company Newton County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Folk Victorian Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas