Certified Local Government Grants Awarded

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Nearly $100,000 in Certified Local Government (CLG) grants have been awarded to eight Arkansas cities. CLG Grants represent a partnership between the National Park Service (NPS), the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), and local governments around the state to preserve historic resources at the local level. These grants are specifically pass-through grants funded by the Historic Preservation Fund Grants-In-Aid program, which is administered by the National Park Service, Department of the Interior.
“We are so pleased to support these communities in their preservation efforts,” said Stacy Hurst, state historic preservation officer and director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage. “Arkansas has nearly 100 Historic Districts and their work to conserve historic structures today is creating a lasting legacy for future generations who will no doubt be filled with a sense of pride when seeing their community’s architectural history.”

An Arkansas city or county is eligible to participate in the CLG program if it has appointed a Historic District Commission (HDC) and has passed a local preservation ordinance designating one or more local historic districts, according to applicable state law.
The awarded cities include:

  • Conway: $25,000, for a city-wide preservation plan ($25,000 match).
  • El Dorado:$43,300, for a city-wide preservation plan, historic preservation officer’s salary, preservation organization memberships and training-related travel for HDC commissioners and staff ($12,000 match).
  • Eureka Springs: $5,650, for training-related travel for staff and HDC commissioners, an informational brochure on the historic district commission, and preservation organization memberships ($2,375 match).
  • Fayetteville:Up to $790,for training-related travel expenses of staff and commissioners.
  • Helena-W. Helena: $5,825, for an historic preservation officer’s salary, training-related travel, and equipment and supplies for scanning historic property records.
  • Little Rock:$9,200, for funding of the second and final phase of a survey of the Broadmoor subdivision, research help and scanning of slides in support of a historic structures GIS project, and attendance at training opportunities by staff and commissioners ($14,000 match).
  • Texarkana:$2,290.02,for training-related travel expenses for staff and commissioners, an informational brochure on historic sites, and purchase of educational materials for commissioners.
  • Van Buren:$2,030, for training-related travel for commissioners and staff.

Click here to view a list of Historic Districts visit.


Recent Posts


Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Historic Preservation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Historic Preservation Program New Century Club of Camden Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas History Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Rosenwald Schools Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Civil Works Administration cemetery preservsation cemetery preservation Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas religious history Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Conway County Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Folk Victorian Architecture Benton Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Free Lesson Plan Houston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Abolition of Slavery Booneville Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Delta Cultural Center Main Street Siloam Springs Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free teacher resources Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi Main Street Association Helena Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Buffalo National River Three States Lumber Company Evelyn Gill Walker House historic architecture Arkansas Design Network Pope County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Wingmead Historic County Courthouses Renaissance Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Camden Public Library Sandwiching in History Phillips County Arkansas Kiblah School Newton County Arkansas Main Street Batesville historic telephone booth free history tours most endangered historic places National Register of Historic Duck Hunting slipcover removal grants Mississippi County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Walks Through History Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Dionicio Rodriguez International-Style Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Turner Restoration African American education Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Paris Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Freedmen's Bureau Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History free historic preservation workshop Flood Control Main Street Searcy Skillern House 13th Amendment Forrest City Arkansas Rosston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Pulaski County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Naturalistic Architecture Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture downtown economic development Nevada County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Burdette Plantation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Arkansas National Historic Landmark Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring St. Francis County Historical Society North Little Rock Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Tudor Revival Architecture Miller County Pike County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas White County Courthouse News Release Gothic Revival architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Civilian Conservation Corps Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House County courthouse Restoration Grants Monroe County Courthouse Pike County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedom Park Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Business History historic resort communities "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Elias Camp Morris Marked Tree Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Camden to Washington Road downtown revitalization Forrest City Cemetery Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Places Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture Russellville Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Art Deco Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Destination Downtown Conference historic Arkansas properties American Legion Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Dumas U.S. Forest Service Main Street Ozark Barney Elias House