Darragh Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, September 14, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Darragh Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Darragh Building at 1403 East 6th Street was designed by Noland Blass, Jr., of the Erhart, Eichenbaum, Rauch, & Blass firm in 1958.

“The Darragh family and Noland Blass, Jr. were a part of the civic community of Little Rock through the decades of the mid-20th century,” according to the National Register nomination. “This is one possible explanation for why Noland Blass, Jr. was selected by the Darragh Company to design a new corporate office headquarters for the prosperous company. This office, which still exists and is now called the Darragh Building, is a prime example of the Modernistic Style of architecture, popular during a period that began in the 1930s and lasted through the 1960s.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council downtown economic development Destination Downtown Conference Saline County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Central High School Neighborhood Historic District News Release Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Civil Works Administration Real Estate Transfer Tax Prairie County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Huntsville Commercial Historic District Art Deco Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Kiblah School Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Business History Free Lesson Plan Nevada County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedom Park Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Barney Elias House African American education cemetery preservsation Main Street Ozark historic architecture Main Street Dumas Arkansas African American Civil War History Forrest City Cemetery Camden Public Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Folk Victorian Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Henry Koen Office Building historic resort communities free history tours Paris Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Conway County Library Main Street Texarkana Pope County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Turner Restoration Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Forrest City Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation National Register of Historic Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Newton County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery most endangered historic places Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Montgomery County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Dr. Ruth Hawkins Houston Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture White County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau International-Style Architecture Rosston Arkansas Buffalo National River Little Rock Central High School historic Arkansas properties Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Flood Control Wingmead Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Lock and Siphons "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Burdette Arkansas Skillern House Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Searcy Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Humanities Council free teacher resources Ozark Farming Walks Through History Marked Tree Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas Preservation Awards Let Freedom Ring Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Helena Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Gothic Revival architecture Elias Camp Morris Cumberland Presbyterian Church Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Roe Arkansas National Register of Historic Places slipcover removal grants Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Burdette Plantation Bogg Springs Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas cemetery preservation American Legion Evelyn Gill Walker House Pike County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Design Network Polk County Arkansas 13th Amendment Dionicio Rodriguez Renaissance Revival Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Monroe County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Naturalistic Architecture New Century Club of Camden Phillips County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Russellville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Three States Lumber Company Leake-Ingham Building Booneville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Camden to Washington Road Rustic Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Historic Preservation U.S. Forest Service Sunken Lands National Historic Landmark Benton Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Main Street Batesville Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Cemetery Preservation Library Miller County Camden Arkansas historic telephone booth Historic County Courthouses North Little Rock Arkansas Rosenwald Schools steel window restoration workshop Arkansas religious history