Destination Downtown Conference Set for Eureka Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, July 09, 2018

Main Street Arkansas, the Mississippi Main Street Association and the Louisiana Main Street program will sponsor Destination Downtown 2018 in Eureka Springs September 9-12. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Destination Downtown is a regional conference for those interested in preservation-based commercial district revitalization and is targeted toward Main Street directors, board members and volunteers as well as architects, planners, economic development professionals, public officials and consultants. Most of the sessions will be held at the Basin Park Hotel in Eureka Springs.

General registration is $125 until August 10 and $150 afterward. To register or for more information visit More information is also available by contacting [email protected]

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic vitality, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are the Argenta Downtown Council, Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, the Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Hardy, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Newport, Paris, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Hope, Mena and Prairie Grove. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden to Washington Road County courthouse Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Hotel Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South free history tours Roe Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Flood Control Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Huntsville Arkansas American Legion Doddridge Arkansas African American education historic Arkansas properties International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Dionicio Rodriguez Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas African American Civil War History Tolbert Gill Pike County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Sandwiching in History Newton County Arkansas Buffalo National River Camden Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Sunken Lands Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Abolition of Slavery Mississippi County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Benton Arkansas Rustic Architecture Duck Hunting Booneville Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Tudor Revival Architecture Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Russellville Arkansas Camden Public Library Gothic Revival architecture Destination Downtown Conference Madison County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church downtown revitalization Let Freedom Ring Historic Preservation Alliance Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Helena Arkansas Turner Restoration Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Rosston Arkansas most endangered historic places Conway County Library Cumberland Presbyterian Church Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House News Release Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas religious history Wingmead slipcover removal grants Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Arkansas historic architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins free teacher resources Saline County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Bogg Springs Arkansas Elias Camp Morris National Register of Historic Places Barney Elias House Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Lesson Plan North Little Rock Arkansas National Register of Historic Arkansas Business History Louisiana Main Street program historic telephone booth cemetery preservation Arkansas Preservation Awards historic resort communities Miller County Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Dumas Arkansas Humanities Council Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons downtown economic development Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Arkansas History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Edgar Monsanto Queeny Forrest City Cemetery Craftsman style architecture cemetery preservsation St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Ozark Walks Through History Poinsett County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Civil Works Administration U.S. Forest Service Downtown Revitalization Grants Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas History Lesson Plans U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Folk Victorian Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Skillern House Civilian Conservation Corps Monroe County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Perry County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Design Network Delta Cultural Center Ouachita County Arkansas Kiblah School Main Street Searcy Mid-Century Modern Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Siloam Springs Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pope County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses free historic preservation workshop Nevada County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Prairie County Arkansas Freedom Park Houston Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Paris Arkansas White County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Ozark Farming 19th Century Road Construction