Elias, Skillern Houses Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 13, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Barney L. Elias House at North Little Rock in Pulaski County and the Skillern House at Fayetteville in Washington County have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Barney L. Elias House at 335 Goshen Avenue is a 1949 structure designed with a combination of the Art Deco and International styles of architecture. “Built in 1949, this house pre-dates the explosion of modernist designs in Arkansas during the 1950s, inspired in part by the creation of the new Architecture Department at the University of Arkansas,” according to the National Register nomination. “This house was designed and built with new construction methods including the use of poured concrete and metal windows. The house completely disregards many of the more traditional residential forms and instead relies on large flat planes of brick to create a very modernist aesthetic, especially on the front façade.”

The Skillern House at 3470 East Skillern Road was built in 1904-05 and designed in the Folk Victorian style of architecture. “The John Audley Skillern House was built in 1904-1905 as the residential center of an 800-acre farm in Washington County on the northeast corner of Fayetteville,” according to the National Register nomination. “The home is approximately 3,400 square feet and in the Folk Victorian Style with Queen Anne detailing. This wonderful example of a Folk Victorian home was built by John Audley Skillern, who was a noteworthy farmer and landowner in rural Washington County.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Ozark Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Cemetery Preservation Library Forrest City Cemetery Saline County Arkansas Buffalo National River Leake-Ingham Building Benton Arkansas free history tours National Register of Historic Places Russellville Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Historic Preservation Conway County Library Main Street Searcy Kiblah School most endangered historic places historic architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Design Network White County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Huntsville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery downtown economic development Pike County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Business History Civil Works Administration Doddridge Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Main Street Batesville cemetery preservation Three States Lumber Company Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Free Lesson Plan Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Duck Hunting Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Booneville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture steel window restoration workshop Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Prairie County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic resort communities U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax National Historic Landmark Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation National Register of Historic Madison County Arkansas Walks Through History Rustic Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Sandwiching in History Abolition of Slavery Forrest City Arkansas International-Style Architecture Ozark Farming Civilian Conservation Corps Free Courthouse Poster Pike County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic Arkansas properties Naturalistic Architecture Camden to Washington Road New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Humanities Council Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Evelyn Gill Walker House 13th Amendment Roe Arkansas Perry County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Clarendon Arkansas Tolbert Gill Trail of Tears in Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Mississippi Main Street Association Henry Koen Office Building Rosenwald Schools Nevada County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Folk Victorian Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Central High School Neighborhood Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Dumas Sunken Lands Arkansas religious history Arkansas Railroad History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Delta Cultural Center Monroe County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Burdette Plantation Miller County News Release Arkansas Preservation Awards historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Siloam Springs Real Estate Transfer Tax 19th Century Road Construction Rosston Arkansas African American education Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Louisiana Main Street program Renaissance Revival Architecture Helena Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Skillern House Arkansas History Turner Restoration slipcover removal grants Elias Camp Morris Wingmead American Legion Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Texarkana Huntsville Commercial Historic District Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Freedom Park Camden Public Library Let Freedom Ring Pope County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Barney Elias House cemetery preservsation Newton County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Montgomery County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Flood Control Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas Polk County Arkansas free teacher resources Marked Tree Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Paris Arkansas downtown revitalization Booneville Historical Preservation Society Destination Downtown Conference Tudor Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez