Elkin's Ferry Purchased; New Preservation Effort Begins at Prairie D'Ane Battlefield

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 05, 2016

The Nevada County Depot and Museum formally accepted the deed to a 448-acre tract of the Elkin’s Ferry Battlefield at Prescott in Nevada County in a ceremony at Prescott on Friday, August 5, completing an effort that raised nearly $1 million to purchase the site for development as a heritage tourism destination.

At the same ceremony, a new fund-raising drive to purchase more than 800 acres of the Prairie D’Ane battlefield at Prescott as a heritage tourism site was announced.

The Elkin’s Ferry project, which was led by the Friends of Elkin’s Ferry and the Nevada County Depot Museum, involved state, national and local participants, including the Civil War Trust, the Conservation Fund, the National Park Service’s American Battlefield Protection Program, the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the Arkansas General Assembly, the Ross and Hendrix Foundations, and dozens of local contributors.

“I congratulate the people of Nevada County for undertaking this remarkable project to both preserve hundreds of acres of hallowed ground and to develop the site as a heritage tourism destination that will spur economic development in the area,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst said.

“This project was an extraordinary challenge, but it shows what we can accomplish when we all work together toward a common goal,” Nevada County Depot Museum Board President Jeremy Dickerson said. “We are now pursuing an interpretive plan that will bring visitors to not only Elkin’s Ferry, but to other Civil War battlefields in Nevada County and southwest Arkansas.”

At the same press conference, a new project was announced to acquire an 800-acre tract of the Prairie D’Ane Battlefield adjacent to Interstate 30 at Prescott, which Dr. Pat and Sue Hale are offering to sell for preservation and development as a heritage tourism site. The tract appraised for $1.4 million, and the Hales are offering it for $900,000.

“We are touched by the Hales’ incredibly generous offer,” Dickerson said. “With anticipated funds from the federal government, we will need to raise around $200,000 to close the sale and bring the Prairie D’Ane Battlefield into our economic development strategy.”

Tax-deductible donations can be made to the Nevada County Depot Museum, 403 West First Street South, Prescott, AR 71857. Donors should specify that the donations are for the Prairie D’Ane project.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Freedmen's Bureau Conway County Library Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Skillern House Elias Camp Morris 19th Century Road Construction Morrilton Arkansas Roe Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Buffalo National River Pope County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Prairie County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Louisiana Main Street program Sandwiching in History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Rustic Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Madison County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Free Lesson Plan historic architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Civil Works Administration Gothic Revival architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Design Network Russellville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas religious history Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Turner Restoration slipcover removal grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Downtown Revitalization Grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Edgar Monsanto Queeny cemetery preservsation Rosston Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Houston Arkansas free teacher resources 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Flood Control Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Business History Huntsville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Montgomery County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Cemetery Preservation Library Dionicio Rodriguez historic telephone booth Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic resort communities 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop National Register of Historic Places Free Courthouse Poster Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic Preservation Alliance Duck Hunting Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Cumberland Presbyterian Church cemetery preservation Sunken Lands North Little Rock Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Batesville Doddridge Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Tudor Revival Architecture Miller County Wingmead downtown revitalization Clarendon Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Pike County Arkansas Walks Through History Helena Arkansas Barney Elias House Pope County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Dumas Camden Public Library Perry County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Little Rock Central High School Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Polk County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society National Register of Historic downtown economic development Tolbert Gill Centennial Baptist Church Rosenwald Schools Ouachita County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Benton Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Ozark Farming Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association free history tours Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse International-Style Architecture American Legion New Century Club of Camden Phillips County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Three States Lumber Company Saline County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas Camden Arkansas African American education Mid-Century Modern Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Texarkana Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Kiblah School Newton County Arkansas White County Courthouse Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Historic Preservation News Release most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedom Park Forrest City Cemetery Burdette Plantation Leake-Ingham Building