Fall Cemetery Workshop: October 25-26, in Carrollton

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, August 27, 2019


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is pleased to announce the Fall Cemetery Preservation Workshop will be held on October 25-26, in Carrollton, Arkansas.

The lecture on October 25 will take place at the Yell Masonic Lodge at 6 p.m. AHPP's Cemetery Preservation expert Holly Hope along with Jonathan Appell of Atlas Preservation, Inc, will present the program that teaches volunteers about proper materials for hands-on cleaning and repair of historic and modern gravestones.

On October 26 attendees will put what they learned in Appell’s lecture to work at Carrollton Cemetery. Directions to the cemetery are from U.S. Highway 62 in Alpena, turn south on U.S. Highway 412. Proceed approximately 2.6 miles to Carroll CR 9122. Turn west to Yell Masonic Lodge which is located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 412 and Carroll County Road 9122. The cemetery is adjacent to the lodge.

The Saturday workshop itinerary includes:
9 a.m.- introductions and workshop overview; cleaning, leveling, and basic repairs
Noon- lunch on grounds
1 p.m.- continuing with leveling, cleaning, and basic repairs
4 p.m.- any questions

An RSVP is required as lunch will be provided. Please contact Ms. Hope at [email protected] or at 501-324-9148. Vegetarian options available upon request.

The AHPP is the Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Humanities Council Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Kiblah School Downtown Revitalization Grants Prairie County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Rustic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Turner Restoration Buffalo National River Tudor Revival Architecture American Legion Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Business History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Alliance free historic preservation workshop Ouachita County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Ozark Renaissance Revival Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Conway County Library Polk County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Forrest City Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation Barney Elias House historic telephone booth Gothic Revival architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Fayetteville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Helena Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Newton County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Burdette Plantation 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation U.S. Forest Service Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola News Release Pope County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Art Deco Architecture White County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Let Freedom Ring Free Courthouse Poster International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Tolbert Gill steel window restoration workshop Forrest City Cemetery Skillern House Naturalistic Architecture Little Rock Central High School Mid-Century Modern Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas religious history Burdette Arkansas National Historic Landmark Roe Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi Main Street Association Civil Works Administration Monroe County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Benton Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Freedom Park Clarendon Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Miller County Delta Cultural Center Trail of Tears in Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Main Street Texarkana St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Elias Camp Morris Ozark Farming Freedmen's Bureau Centennial Baptist Church Sunken Lands County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Russellville Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Craftsman style architecture free teacher resources Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Bogg Springs Hotel Free Lesson Plan New Century Club of Camden Mississippi County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Wingmead Camden Arkansas historic architecture most endangered historic places Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Bogg Springs Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Camden Public Library Walks Through History Evelyn Gill Walker House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Rosston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Sandwiching in History Abolition of Slavery Marked Tree Arkansas cemetery preservation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Huntsville Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins African American education Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Three States Lumber Company free history tours Saline County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Historic County Courthouses historic resort communities Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Dumas downtown revitalization National Register of Historic Places Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Design Network downtown economic development Flood Control slipcover removal grants