Final 2017 Walks Through History Tour to Visit El Dorado

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s final 2017 “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown El Dorado beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, December 9.

The business district that grew during the oil boom of the 1920s is anchored by the Union County Courthouse at the corner of Main and Washington Streets. The historic district includes the city blocks surrounding the courthouse, as well as several blocks extending east along Main Street and south along Washington Street. Other notable structures include the Exchange Bank building, which was, at nine stories, the county's first skyscraper, and the eight-story Murphy Oil building. The tour begins at the Union County Courthouse at 101 North Washington Avenue and is co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Main Street Batesville Destination Downtown Conference Camden Public Library Benton Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Henry Koen Office Building Cemetery Preservation Library Pope County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Buffalo National River U.S. Forest Service Main Street Texarkana Sandwiching in History Arkansas Humanities Council Civilian Conservation Corps Civil Works Administration Conway County Library Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 White County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Bogg Springs Arkansas Three States Lumber Company free history tours Ozark Farming Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance free historic preservation workshop most endangered historic places Madison County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring 13th Amendment Wingmead New Century Club of Camden Tolbert Gill Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Montgomery County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas cemetery preservation Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Arkansas History Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown economic development Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Hotel Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Historic Landmark Pulaski County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Rustic Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Main Street Dumas Saline County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Barney Elias House Roe Arkansas Burdette Plantation Mississippi County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church African American education Arkansas religious history 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Naturalistic Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South American Legion Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum St. Francis County Historical Society slipcover removal grants Monroe County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Sunken Lands Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservsation Turner Restoration Duck Hunting Camden to Washington Road Pope County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops International-Style Architecture historic telephone booth Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Design Network Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Business History Mississippi Main Street Association Flood Control National Register of Historic Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission steel window restoration workshop Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Skillern House Downtown Revitalization Grants Centennial Baptist Church Folk Victorian Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Ozark Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Arkansas Paris Arkansas Miller County Perry County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Freedmen's Bureau Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas State University Heritage Sites historic architecture Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Courthouse Poster downtown revitalization Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas African American Civil War History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Nevada County Arkansas Freedom Park Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic County Courthouses historic resort communities Pike County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture News Release Edgar Monsanto Queeny Burdette Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Little Rock Central High School Camden Arkansas free teacher resources County courthouse Restoration Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Art Deco Architecture Louisiana Main Street program Booneville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Kiblah School Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Walks Through History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Craftsman style architecture Abolition of Slavery