First 2018 Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit First United Methodist Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, December 22, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Sandwiching in History” tour of 2018 will visit First United Methodist Church at 723 Center Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, January 5.

Designed by noted Little Rock architect Frank Gibb in 1896, the First United Methodist Church is his only known commission in the Romanesque Revival style. The congregation of the First United Methodist Church was organized in 1831, making it the oldest Methodist Church in Little Rock. From 1868 to 1914 at least five other Methodist churches were established as “missions” of First Methodist, earning it the title of “Mother Church.”

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held February 2, Markham Street United Methodist Church (Faith United Methodist Church), 9820 West Markham, Little Rock; March 2, Block Realty-Couch House, 8 Armistead Road, Little Rock; April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


"Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Russellville Arkansas historic architecture Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Rosenwald Schools St. Francis County Historical Society Edgar Monsanto Queeny Let Freedom Ring Dr. Ruth Hawkins Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Centennial Baptist Church Perry County Arkansas African American education Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Destination Downtown Conference Bogg Springs Hotel Burdette Arkansas White County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Phillips County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Rustic Architecture Main Street Ozark Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Saline County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Gothic Revival architecture Forrest City Cemetery Freedmen's Bureau Morrilton Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas historic Arkansas properties U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Monroe County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Monsanto Chemical Corporation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Courthouse American Legion cemetery preservation Free Courthouse Poster Walks Through History Main Street Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Camden to Washington Road Madison County Arkansas Camden Public Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Business History Craftsman style architecture 19th Century Road Construction Skillern House Arkansas Humanities Council Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Cemetery Preservation Library Roe Arkansas International-Style Architecture Pope County Arkansas Sunken Lands most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop News Release Poinsett County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Renaissance Revival Architecture Abolition of Slavery Three States Lumber Company Clarendon Arkansas Ozark Farming Miller County Kiblah School Helena Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Dumas Trail of Tears in Arkansas cemetery preservsation Art Deco Architecture Turner Restoration Arkansas History Lesson Plans downtown revitalization Pope County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Historic County Courthouses Houston Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Elias Camp Morris Mid-Century Modern Architecture Conway County Library Arkansas Design Network Pike County Arkansas Main Street Batesville slipcover removal grants Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Texarkana Marked Tree Arkansas historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Buffalo National River Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas African American Civil War History Booneville Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 National Register of Historic Arkansas Historic Preservation Flood Control Duck Hunting historic resort communities Folk Victorian Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Erbie Arkansas Tolbert Gill Arkansas History U.S. Forest Service Mississippi County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Tudor Revival Architecture Civil Works Administration Polk County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Barney Elias House Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Alliance Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Burdette Plantation County courthouse Restoration Grants Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi Main Street Association Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedom Park Fayetteville Arkansas Pike County Courthouse free history tours steel window restoration workshop Prairie County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Real Estate Transfer Tax National Historic Landmark Pulaski County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Wingmead Arkansas Railroad History Rosston Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas religious history free teacher resources Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Paris Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Benton Arkansas