First 2018 Walks Through History Tour to Visit Fayetteville's Mount Nord

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 23, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Walks Through History” tour of 2018 will visit the Mount Nord Historic District in Fayetteville at 11 a.m. on Saturday, March 10.

Occupying a single hilltop block in Fayetteville, the Mount Nord Historic District features five buildings that record American “high-style” tastes in the early twentieth century. With construction dates ranging from around 1901 to 1925, the houses reflect the Classical Revival, Colonial Revival, Italianate and Beaux Arts styles of architecture. The tour will begin at the corner of West Mount Nord Street and North Mock Avenue. It is co-sponsored by the Washington County Historical Society and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2018 “Walks Through History” tours will be held April 14, Columbia Street, Helena-West Helena, sponsored by Main Street Helena; May 12, Downtown Beebe, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 15, Downtown Osceola, co-sponsored by the Mississippi County Historical Society and Mississippi County Museum; October 13, Heber Springs Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Heber Springs Library and Downtown Heber Springs Network, and November 10, Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Destination Downtown Conference Pike County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Centennial Baptist Church Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Cemetery Preservation Library Civil Works Administration Renaissance Revival Architecture Madison County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture slipcover removal grants Skillern House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Conway County Library 13th Amendment Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 National Historic Landmark Pike County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Searcy Barney Elias House Main Street Batesville Newton County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas free history tours Tolbert Gill Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Design Network "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture White County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monroe County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas free teacher resources Burdette Plantation Phillips County Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Business History Ozark Farming Free Courthouse Poster Rustic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Railroad History Rosenwald Schools cemetery preservation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Historical Preservation Society Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School historic Arkansas properties National Register of Historic Montgomery County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas American Legion historic telephone booth Arkansas State University Heritage Sites U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Arkansas Helena Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Bogg Springs Hotel Sandwiching in History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Booneville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Ozark Duck Hunting Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Dionicio Rodriguez Kiblah School Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic resort communities cemetery preservsation Pulaski County Courthouse Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Dumas Mississippi Main Street Association Louisiana Main Street program Flood Control Buffalo National River Historic County Courthouses Camden Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Free Lesson Plan Camden to Washington Road downtown revitalization Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Evelyn Gill Walker House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown economic development Leake-Ingham Building steel window restoration workshop historic architecture Main Street Texarkana New Century Club of Camden Delta Cultural Center Forrest City Cemetery International-Style Architecture Abolition of Slavery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Historic Preservation Roe Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Paris Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Turner Restoration Pope County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Clarendon Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Doddridge Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Marked Tree Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants most endangered historic places African American education Monsanto Chemical Corporation Freedom Park Three States Lumber Company Naturalistic Architecture Benton Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture free historic preservation workshop Sunken Lands Huntsville Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Wingmead Camden Public Library Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Erbie Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Courthouse News Release Rosston Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Preservation Awards Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Miller County Historic Preservation Alliance