Five Cities Join Main Street Arkansas Network

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 18, 2018

Pine Bluff and the Argenta Downtown Council have joined the Main Street Arkansas (MSA) network of cities actively revitalizing their historic commercial cores, while Hope, Mena and Prairie Grove have joined MSA’s Arkansas Downtown Network (ADN). Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Pine Bluff has been part of the Arkansas Downtown Network since 2005 and is advancing to full Main Street status, while North Little Rock, which was a Main Street city from 1994 to 2009, is rejoining the program.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic vitality, organization and promotion.

Among the services and benefits ADN cities receive are access to Main Street Arkansas’s quarterly trainings, organizational assistance and limited technical assistance from Main Street staff members.

Other cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, the Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Other members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Hardy, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Newport, Paris, Forrest City, Malvern and Pocahontas. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Let Freedom Ring Henry Koen Office Building Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Dr. Ruth Hawkins Folk Victorian Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance historic resort communities Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Roe Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Historic County Courthouses International-Style Architecture Rustic Architecture Conway County Library North Little Rock Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Freedmen's Bureau Forrest City Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Doddridge Arkansas Civil Works Administration Huntsville Commercial Historic District Morrilton Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Newton County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Huntsville Arkansas free history tours Flood Control Cumberland Presbyterian Church Sandwiching in History Main Street Ozark National Register of Historic Places Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Walks Through History National Register of Historic Three States Lumber Company Pope County Courthouse Turner Restoration Polk County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pike County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Freedom Park Destination Downtown Conference Benton Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas History Lesson Plans St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Burdette Arkansas cemetery preservsation Skillern House Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pike County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program steel window restoration workshop Tolbert Gill Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Little Rock Central High School Bogg Springs Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House slipcover removal grants free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Design Network American Legion Arkansas African American Civil War History Helena Arkansas Main Street Dumas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Elias Camp Morris free teacher resources Camden to Washington Road Booneville Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Free Courthouse Poster most endangered historic places Art Deco Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Camden Public Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Business History Russellville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Leake-Ingham Building Fayetteville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Miller County Arkansas History Gothic Revival architecture Ozark Farming Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Barney Elias House Civilian Conservation Corps Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Wingmead Main Street Batesville Ouachita County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Bogg Springs Hotel Monroe County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic telephone booth News Release Paris Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse downtown revitalization Duck Hunting Tudor Revival Architecture Rosston Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Sunken Lands Marked Tree Arkansas Erbie Arkansas White County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas African American education Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Kiblah School Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Rosenwald Schools Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas religious history Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Texarkana Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 19th Century Road Construction Montgomery County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Houston Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Perry County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse National Historic Landmark cemetery preservation downtown economic development