Grant Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, September 17, 2019


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular county Courthouse Restoration Grants and Historic Preservation Restoration Grants.

Letters of intent are due on November 14, 2019. This is also the date of a free application workshop which will be held at the Arkansas Heritage building, 1100 North Street, Little Rock. RSVPs for the workshop are required by calling or emailing Joia Burton at 501.324.9883 or [email protected].

“If you plan to submit a grant and have not gone through the process before, I highly recommend attending the workshop put on by the grants team,” says Scott Kaufman, division director for the AHPP. “Every spring we look forward to combing through the stack of applicants and working with new grantees to see their worthy projects come to fruition.”

Additional deadlines include the Courthouse Grant application to AHPP on January 31, 2020, and the Historic Preservation Restoration Grant application due on March 6, 2020. Applicants must create a free login/password through the online portal at Winners are usually announced in June during a public ceremony.

“Announcing grants that restore the historic fabric in Arkansas communities is one of my favorite duties as Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism,” says Stacy Hurst, who also serves as the state historic preservation officer. “As I travel through the state I get to see first-hand the impact this funding has on communities. During the last grant period we gave out more than $1.6 million in Courthouse Grants and over $800,000 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants thanks to funding from the Real Estate Transfer Tax.”

As part of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Main Street Arkansas is a program which falls under AHPP. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Free Courthouse Poster New Century Club of Camden Russellville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House Sandwiching in History Forrest City Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Dumas Ozark Farming North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Barney Elias House Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Dionicio Rodriguez Booneville Historical Preservation Society Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Let Freedom Ring Gothic Revival architecture Kiblah School Houston Arkansas Tolbert Gill African American education Arkansas History free historic preservation workshop St. Francis County Historical Society Rustic Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Folk Victorian Architecture Madison County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Railroad History Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Dr. Ruth Hawkins downtown revitalization Flood Control Fayetteville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses National Register of Historic Places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free history tours Mid-Century Modern Architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Buffalo National River cemetery preservsation Civilian Conservation Corps Camden Public Library Pope County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company Renaissance Revival Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Walks Through History Phillips County Arkansas historic resort communities Clarendon Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse International-Style Architecture slipcover removal grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Roe Arkansas downtown economic development Booneville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Pulaski County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas Pike County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Wingmead Bogg Springs Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden to Washington Road Civil Works Administration historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance Louisiana Main Street program free teacher resources Erbie Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas Business History Helena Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Burdette Plantation Pope County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery National Historic Landmark Henry Koen Office Building most endangered historic places Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council White County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas religious history Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Searcy Free Lesson Plan Elias Camp Morris Monroe County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Trail of Tears in Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Duck Hunting Monroe County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Perry County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites American Legion Craftsman style architecture Turner Restoration 13th Amendment Main Street Ozark Sunken Lands Forrest City Cemetery Pike County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas News Release Leake-Ingham Building Conway County Library cemetery preservation Benton Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture National Register of Historic Freedom Park Poinsett County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Montgomery County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Newton County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Humanities Council County courthouse Restoration Grants Prairie County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Destination Downtown Conference historic architecture Rosenwald Schools Freedmen's Bureau Monsanto Chemical Corporation Cemetery Preservation Library U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Rosston Arkansas Camden Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Siloam Springs Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Design Network