Graves of Arkansas Governors

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 30, 2019


The Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) has completed a year-long project documenting the graves of Arkansas governors. The press and public were invited to attend the announcement of our new interactive web page dedicated to locating these graves on Monday, May 6, at 11 in the morning at the Old State House, Riverfront Room.

You can view the interactive map and database here!

“These individuals played leading roles in shaping the history of our state. What we often find is that the headstones serve as monuments not just to their life, but more specifically, their time serving Arkansas,” said Stacy Hurst, state historic preservation officer and director of DAH. “The scope of this research and documentation was substantial and we hope it will inspire communities, historical societies, and cemetery associations across our state to take a look at the condition of these graves and do the appropriate cleanings and improvements when needed. Also, we think our interactive online map will provide a great tool for the heritage tourist interested in an informative journey.”

Documenting the Graves of Arkansas Governors was a special project assigned to Holly Hope of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. Hope regularly conducts cemetery preservation programs around the state at the request of historical societies, churches, communities, and cemetery associations.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Preservation Awards Nevada County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Kiblah School Poinsett County Arkansas Buffalo National River Wingmead Rosston Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Railroad History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Huntsville Commercial Historic District Skillern House Houston Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Louisiana Main Street program Civilian Conservation Corps Ouachita County Arkansas Miller County Main Street Arkansas Main Street Dumas National Historic Landmark historic architecture Turner Restoration Perry County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Flood Control County courthouse Restoration Grants New Century Club of Camden Newton County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas religious history Duck Hunting Saline County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas downtown revitalization American Legion Civil Works Administration Camden to Washington Road Freedmen's Bureau National Register of Historic Places Pike County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Huntsville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Centennial Baptist Church free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Main Street Searcy Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Folk Victorian Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Burdette Plantation Montgomery County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Downtown Revitalization Grants Paris Arkansas historic telephone booth Barney Elias House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Conway County Library Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Burdette Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Business History Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Walks Through History Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Central High School Neighborhood Historic District cemetery preservation Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Bogg Springs Hotel Delta Cultural Center Doddridge Arkansas slipcover removal grants Helena Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans 19th Century Road Construction Ozark Farming St. Francis County Historical Society Benton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic Arkansas properties Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Cemetery Preservation Library News Release Tudor Revival Architecture Russellville Arkansas Sunken Lands Cumberland Presbyterian Church Camden Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Morrilton Arkansas Let Freedom Ring African American education Dr. Ruth Hawkins National Register of Historic Evelyn Gill Walker House downtown economic development Erbie Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Tolbert Gill Main Street Texarkana Historic County Courthouses Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Elias Camp Morris free teacher resources Craftsman style architecture Freedom Park Renaissance Revival Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas 13th Amendment Fayetteville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Abolition of Slavery Camden Public Library Forrest City Cemetery Sandwiching in History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Pope County Courthouse free history tours Mississippi Main Street Association Edgar Monsanto Queeny Three States Lumber Company Booneville Arkansas most endangered historic places U.S. Forest Service Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites White County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic resort communities Arkansas Historic Preservation Program