Historic Preservation Month Proclamations Cover All 75 Arkansas Counties

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, May 08, 2018

Madison County Judge Frank Weaver, Lake City Mayor Jon Milligan and Augusta Mayor William Burl Simmons, Jr., have joined 166 other Arkansas officials who have declared May as Historic Preservation Month and Arkansas Heritage Month.

With the Madison County proclamation, all 75 Arkansas counties are now observing the celebrations, the first time this has occurred in the 26 years the AHPP has promoted the events.

The proclamations from Weaver, Milligan and Simmons note that historic preservation is an effective tool for managing growth, revitalizing neighborhoods, fostering local pride and maintaining community character while enhancing livability; and that historic preservation is relevant for communities across the nation, both urban and rural, and for Americans of all ages, walks of life and ethnic backgrounds.

The officials declare that it is important to celebrate the role of history in our lives and the contributions made by dedicated individuals in helping preserve the tangible aspects of the heritage that shaped us as a people. Noting that "This Place Matters! " is the theme for National Preservation Month 2018 and “Off the Beaten Path: Explore and Enjoy Arkansas’s Natural Heritage” is the theme for Arkansas Heritage Month, cosponsored by Madison County, Lake City, Augusta, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Department of Arkansas Heritage and the National Trust for Historic Preservation, the officials proclaimed May as National Historic Preservation Month and called upon their constituents to join their fellow citizens across the United States in recognizing and participating in the special observance.

For a list of Arkansas Heritage Month events, visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Perry County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Barney Elias House Free Lesson Plan Russellville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Montgomery County Courthouse cemetery preservation Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Roe Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Ouachita County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Downtown Revitalization Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Texarkana Conway County Library New Century Club of Camden Tolbert Gill Renaissance Revival Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Ozark National Register of Historic Burdette Plantation Little Rock Central High School 13th Amendment Pike County Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Flood Control Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Tudor Revival Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Phillips County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Newton County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Bogg Springs Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau free teacher resources downtown economic development Dionicio Rodriguez Mississippi Main Street Association Sunken Lands Freedom Park historic Arkansas properties slipcover removal grants Free Courthouse Poster free historic preservation workshop Duck Hunting Pope County Courthouse African American education Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Three States Lumber Company Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Batesville Historic Preservation Alliance Craftsman style architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Ozark Farming White County Courthouse Wingmead Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Benton Arkansas News Release Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Humanities Council Miller County Mid-Century Modern Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Camden Public Library Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Turner Restoration Booneville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Monsanto Chemical Corporation free history tours Arkansas Register of Historic Places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Camden to Washington Road Gothic Revival architecture Forrest City Arkansas Rustic Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Destination Downtown Conference Pope County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Erbie Arkansas historic architecture National Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs 19th Century Road Construction Let Freedom Ring Folk Victorian Architecture cemetery preservsation Doddridge Arkansas historic telephone booth Huntsville Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas History Lesson Plans International-Style Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Arkansas Skillern House Forrest City Cemetery Prairie County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Main Street Searcy Kiblah School Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Trail of Tears in Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas religious history Art Deco Architecture Camden Arkansas Houston Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic resort communities downtown revitalization Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Arkansas most endangered historic places Nevada County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Helena Arkansas Paris Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Elias Camp Morris Civil Works Administration North Little Rock Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Buffalo National River Cumberland Presbyterian Church Saline County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation National Historic Landmark Main Street Dumas Henry Koen Office Building Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House American Legion County courthouse Restoration Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosston Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas