Jacob Wolf House Reception To Be Held October 17

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, October 05, 2017

On October 17, 2017, Governor Asa Hutchinson and Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) Director Stacy Hurst will reveal the preservation and rehabilitation plans for the Jacob Wolf House Site and Territorial Courthouse. The public is invited to a reception at 2 p.m. to preview the plans.

New site improvements, supported by an Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council grant, will enhance the visitor’s experience. Grant funds will aid in restoring the historic structures on site, provide for new exhibits and allow the department to offer public programming.

“We are excited to announce the plans to restore and preserve the Jacob Wolf House property,” said Hurst. “The Department of Arkansas Heritage takes great pride in connecting individual Arkansans to our shared heritage and we look forward to the opportunities at the Jacob Wolf House.”

The Wolf House will offer comprehensive interpretive themes between 1829-1863 tied to the historic site. The Wolf House is Arkansas’s oldest public structure and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Department of Arkansas Heritage acquired the Jacob Wolf House Site and Territorial Courthouse in 2016 from the Baxter County Quorum Court. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, operates the site with Marlon Mowdy as historic site manager.

Reception guests may park in the lots near the river below the historic site. A shuttle service is available.

About the Department of Arkansas Heritage
The mission of the Department of Arkansas Heritage is to identify Arkansas’s heritage and enhance the quality of life for residents and visitors by the discovery, preservation and presentation of the state’s natural, cultural and historic resources. This is accomplished through the work of eight divisions:
Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas State Archives, Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and Old State House Museum.

Recent Posts


Ozark Farming Forrest City Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden to Washington Road Wingmead Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Design Network Let Freedom Ring Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Three States Lumber Company Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Civil Works Administration Paris Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District cemetery preservsation Pike County Arkansas American Legion Newton County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Burdette Arkansas Barney Elias House Pulaski County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Buffalo National River Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Searcy St. Francis County Historical Society New Century Club of Camden Louisiana Main Street program Pike County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Delta Cultural Center Elias Camp Morris Historic County Courthouses Renaissance Revival Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District National Historic Landmark Arkansas History Lesson Plans Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Kiblah School Pope County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi Main Street Association Morrilton Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Conway County Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Register of Historic Places free historic preservation workshop Free Courthouse Poster Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Tudor Revival Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Camden Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Pope County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites International-Style Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops cemetery preservation Skillern House Booneville Historical Preservation Society Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Polk County Arkansas News Release Bogg Springs Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Sunken Lands Evelyn Gill Walker House 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden Public Library "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Batesville Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Siloam Springs Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment free history tours Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Hotel Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Business History Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Historic Preservation historic telephone booth Abolition of Slavery Trail of Tears in Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Helena Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Arkansas History Duck Hunting Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas National Register of Historic Centennial Baptist Church Real Estate Transfer Tax Houston Arkansas White County Courthouse African American education Art Deco Architecture Rosston Arkansas Tolbert Gill Main Street Dumas Madison County Arkansas free teacher resources Freedom Park Sandwiching in History Gothic Revival architecture downtown economic development historic architecture Walks Through History Doddridge Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Turner Restoration National Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Saline County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery U.S. Forest Service Flood Control Perry County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Roe Arkansas slipcover removal grants steel window restoration workshop historic resort communities Rustic Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Miller County Burdette Plantation Poinsett County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Ozark Marked Tree Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction most endangered historic places Erbie Arkansas downtown revitalization Mississippi County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons