Jacob Wolf House to Host Pioneer Days Events

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, May 03, 2018

The Jacob Wolf House Historic Site in Norfork will host a number of activities during the annual Pioneer Days event from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, May 19.

Activities to be held at the Jacob Wolf House Historic Site include a Dutch Oven cooking demonstration, soap-making demonstration, blacksmith demonstration, a hunter, trapper, and trader tent from the early frontier, and a Civil War camp life demonstration, all of which fit into the historic site’s timeline of interpretation from 1829–1863.

Other events will be held at other Norfork locations. The annual Pioneer Days Event celebrates the region’s heritage and offers visitors a fun-filled day of activities.

The Jacob Wolf House Historic Site preserves, protects and promotes Arkansas’s oldest public structure and interprets the cultural and historical significance of this Ozark region. The two-story log dog-trot structure was built in 1829 as the first permanent courthouse for Izard County in Arkansas Territory. The Wolf House sits above the confluence of the White and Norfork rivers in present-day Norfork in Baxter County. The Wolf House was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

The Department of Arkansas Heritage acquired the Jacob Wolf House Historic Site from the Baxter County Quorum Court in early 2017.New site improvements will enhance the visitor's experience through restoration work to the historic structures, renovations to support facilities, new exhibits and public programs. The Wolf House will be restored to a time that reflects its importance as a Territorial Courthouse. Comprehensive interpretive themes tied to the historic site are the Early Arkansas Frontier, Native American Culture, River Travel and Trade, Territorial Politics, Early Statehood, Slavery in the Ozarks and the Civil War. The time-line for interpretation will be 1829–1863.

To learn more, visit or call (870) 499-0556.

The Jacob Wolf House Historic Site is part of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Pope County Courthouse Houston Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot County courthouse Restoration Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Henry Koen Office Building Miller County Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Sunken Lands Walks Through History Abolition of Slavery Arkansas religious history Main Street Texarkana Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Art Deco Architecture free historic preservation workshop historic Arkansas properties Ozark Farming Civil Works Administration Free Courthouse Poster Three States Lumber Company White County Courthouse Bogg Springs Hotel U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Edgar Monsanto Queeny Marked Tree Arkansas African American education Sandwiching in History Delta Cultural Center Huntsville Commercial Historic District National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Historic Preservation slipcover removal grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum National Register of Historic Bogg Springs Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Duck Hunting Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Kiblah School 19th Century Road Construction Burdette Plantation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pope County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Design Network Mississippi County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Morrilton Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Nevada County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Huntsville Arkansas Conway County Library Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Perry County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Ozark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants American Legion Elias Camp Morris Rosenwald Schools Destination Downtown Conference Wingmead downtown economic development Rustic Architecture Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Naturalistic Architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Railroad History Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Forrest City Cemetery Helena Arkansas Arkansas Business History Downtown Revitalization Grants Newton County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service News Release Russellville Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Erbie Arkansas free teacher resources Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi Main Street Association Civilian Conservation Corps Forrest City Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture New Century Club of Camden Booneville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas History Camden Public Library International-Style Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Cemetery Preservation Library 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Register of Historic Places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Paris Arkansas cemetery preservation Leake-Ingham Building Pike County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic architecture Roe Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas African American Civil War History Tudor Revival Architecture Skillern House steel window restoration workshop Dr. Ruth Hawkins Louisiana Main Street program Craftsman style architecture Monroe County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Buffalo National River Real Estate Transfer Tax Poinsett County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Turner Restoration Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Arkansas historic telephone booth Barney Elias House Evelyn Gill Walker House Doddridge Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas free history tours Tolbert Gill most endangered historic places Flood Control Freedom Park Main Street Searcy Historic Preservation Alliance 13th Amendment Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Historic County Courthouses Camden to Washington Road