Kaufman Named AHPP Director

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 24, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Stacy Hurst, director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH), today named Scott Kaufman as director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), a division of DAH. Kaufman comes to AHPP with 20 years of experience in higher education administration at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR). He has served in financial aid and student services, and since 2008, as director of mail services. Involved in the preservation community, he is a former executive board member of the Little Rock Oakland and Fraternal Historic Cemetery and is active with the North Little Rock History Commission and the Firehouse Hostel and Museum in Little Rock.

Kaufman holds master’s degrees in public administration and secondary education from UALR, as well as a bachelor’s degree in political science and history. He will begin work on Sept. 5.

“I am very pleased that Scott is coming on board to lead the AHPP staff,” said Hurst. “His administrative experience and successful career in higher education will be a valuable asset to AHPP’s mission to identify, evaluate, register and preserve the state’s cultural resources.”

The other agencies of DAH are the Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Old State House Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


13th Amendment Main Street Searcy Walks Through History Dr. Ruth Hawkins Tudor Revival Architecture cemetery preservation Booneville Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Pope County Courthouse U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Arkansas Camden Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Turner Restoration Art Deco Architecture Pike County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Register of Historic Places Bogg Springs Hotel Leake-Ingham Building Skillern House Dionicio Rodriguez Burdette Plantation Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Destination Downtown Conference Benton Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Business History Huntsville Commercial Historic District most endangered historic places Newton County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons African American education Erbie Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut steel window restoration workshop Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Batesville Henry Koen Office Building historic Arkansas properties North Little Rock Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Flood Control Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Freedmen's Bureau Wingmead Houston Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Helena Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program free historic preservation workshop Monroe County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas downtown revitalization Barney Elias House historic telephone booth Freedom Park American Legion Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi Main Street Association free history tours Arkansas religious history historic architecture Delta Cultural Center Little Rock Central High School Montgomery County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Real Estate Transfer Tax Burdette Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company Polk County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas News Release Phillips County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster Saline County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Historic County Courthouses Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pope County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Clarendon Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas History Rosston Arkansas Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards White County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Alliance Sunken Lands Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Design Network Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Civil Works Administration Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation County courthouse Restoration Grants Camden Public Library Sandwiching in History Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Ouachita County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Nevada County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas National Historic Landmark free teacher resources National Register of Historic International-Style Architecture Pike County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Conway County Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Duck Hunting Monroe County Arkansas Rustic Architecture New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum historic resort communities Folk Victorian Architecture downtown economic development Monsanto Chemical Corporation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 19th Century Road Construction "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Abolition of Slavery National Register of Historic Places Tolbert Gill Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Craftsman style architecture Paris Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps