Leslie Commercial District Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, July 20, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Leslie Commercial Historic District at Leslie in Searcy County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Leslie Commercial Historic District, which encompasses buildings at 319-424 Main and 205 Oak streets, features buildings dating to 1905.

“Centered along Main Street and inclusive of the early and mid-twentieth century commercial buildings, the district includes a collection of buildings representing a significant and distinguishable entity,” according to the National Register nomination. “The buildings fronting Main Street and the adjacent side streets were erected in the preferred popular Twentieth Century Standard Commercial style, and largely retain their architectural integrity.”

While listing on the National Register offers no inherent protections to historic properties, it can make some properties eligible for historic preservation tax credits or grants. Visit to learn more.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Abolition of Slavery Gothic Revival architecture Tolbert Gill Polk County Arkansas Arkansas History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Monroe County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools historic architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Flood Control Perry County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Camden Arkansas cemetery preservsation Dionicio Rodriguez Pulaski County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas African American education Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library Forrest City Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture most endangered historic places Arkansas Humanities Council Miller County Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers St. Francis County Historical Society Booneville Arkansas Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Destination Downtown Conference Historic Preservation Alliance Benton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Art Deco Architecture New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Preservation Awards U.S. Forest Service Free Lesson Plan Camden Public Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pope County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins free history tours Barney Elias House Booneville Historical Preservation Society Ozark Farming Arkansas African American Civil War History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic telephone booth Kiblah School Arkansas religious history Rustic Architecture Duck Hunting Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network White County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas National Register of Historic "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Monroe County Courthouse downtown revitalization Renaissance Revival Architecture National Register of Historic Places Louisiana Main Street program Burdette Plantation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Buffalo National River slipcover removal grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans Montgomery County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Business History Nevada County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 free historic preservation workshop Mississippi Main Street Association Sandwiching in History Delta Cultural Center Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Siloam Springs Cumberland Presbyterian Church Evelyn Gill Walker House Civil Works Administration National Historic Landmark Turner Restoration Camden to Washington Road steel window restoration workshop Three States Lumber Company Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Batesville cemetery preservation Little Rock Central High School Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax historic Arkansas properties Rosston Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Skillern House Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Let Freedom Ring Henry Koen Office Building Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Arkansas Pike County Courthouse historic resort communities Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Free Courthouse Poster Freedom Park Main Street Texarkana Burdette Arkansas Roe Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Poinsett County Arkansas Walks Through History Main Street Searcy Downtown Revitalization Grants Houston Arkansas Wingmead Sunken Lands Leake-Ingham Building Naturalistic Architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown economic development Russellville Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Cemetery Preservation Library Folk Victorian Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Civilian Conservation Corps International-Style Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Paris Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion free teacher resources News Release Pope County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Main Street Ozark Elias Camp Morris