“Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants Available

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, February 02, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission, in cooperation with the Arkansas Humanities Council and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, is offering “Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants to help Arkansas students visit two museums that tell the stories of how the Civil War affected Arkansas’s African American people, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

“The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is focusing on the passage of the 13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which outlawed slavery, during 2015, the final year of the commemoration of the 150th anniversary of the Civil War,” Dupree said. “In keeping with that goal, ‘Let Freedom Ring’ Travel Grants of up to $500 will be available through the Arkansas Humanities Council to assist school groups in visiting either the ‘Freedom! Oh, Freedom!’ exhibit at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center in Little Rock or Freedom Park and the Delta Cultural Center in Helena-West Helena – both sites providing interpretation of the African American experience in Civil War Arkansas.”

Grant applications are available through the Arkansas Humanities Council, 407 President Clinton Avenue, Suite 201, Little Rock, AR 72201. Deadlines are the first of each month through November 2015. Applicants must contact the museum they choose to visit to schedule their field trip prior to applying for the grant. Admission to both museums are free.

For information regarding the “Let Freedom Ring” Travel Grants, please contact Jama Best, Senior Program Officer, Arkansas Humanities Council, 407 President Clinton Avenue, Suite 201, Little Rock, AR 72201, (501) 320-5761 or [email protected], or visit

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit or e-mail [email protected] The Arkansas Humanities Council seeks to promote access to the humanities for everyone in Arkansas by awarding grants to nonprofit organizations so they can plan, conduct, and evaluate humanities projects for Arkansas audiences. In addition, the council provides services that complement the grant program.

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


13th Amendment Tolbert Gill Edgar Monsanto Queeny Henry Koen Office Building Barney Elias House downtown economic development Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Civil Works Administration Arkansas African American Civil War History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cumberland Presbyterian Church Burdette Plantation U.S. Forest Service Saline County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas History Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Roe Arkansas Rustic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Burdette Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free history tours Arkansas religious history Main Street Searcy Pike County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Historic County Courthouses Conway County Library Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Benton Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pope County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Madison County Arkansas National Register of Historic Main Street Siloam Springs cemetery preservation Little Rock Central High School Ouachita County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Booneville Arkansas News Release Skillern House Bogg Springs Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Main Street Batesville North Little Rock Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Delta Cultural Center Tudor Revival Architecture Rosston Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Free Lesson Plan Evelyn Gill Walker House Rosenwald Schools Kiblah School Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Historic Preservation cemetery preservsation Three States Lumber Company "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance Poinsett County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Dumas Fayetteville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Ozark Forrest City Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas Design Network National Historic Landmark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Doddridge Arkansas White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Houston Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic architecture Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Register of Historic Places International-Style Architecture African American education Walks Through History Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Turner Restoration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Flood Control Buffalo National River Monroe County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Centennial Baptist Church Art Deco Architecture Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Booneville Historical Preservation Society Sandwiching in History Wingmead Craftsman style architecture Civilian Conservation Corps National Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau Clarendon Arkansas historic resort communities downtown revitalization Helena Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Railroad History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Dr. Ruth Hawkins Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Destination Downtown Conference Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House County courthouse Restoration Grants steel window restoration workshop Leake-Ingham Building Monsanto Chemical Corporation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas Miller County historic Arkansas properties Russellville Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas New Century Club of Camden slipcover removal grants Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture American Legion Nevada County Arkansas Duck Hunting Morrilton Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Paris Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas Humanities Council Newton County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society 19th Century Road Construction Camden to Washington Road Freedom Park Elias Camp Morris Real Estate Transfer Tax Monroe County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas free teacher resources Cemetery Preservation Library most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District Perry County Arkansas