Little Rock Housing Towers Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 27, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Three Little Rock public housing towers have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The three newly listed properties, which all were built to serve as public housing for senior citizens, are:

* Cumberland Towers at 211 East Eighth Street, an 11-story International Style residential tower built in 1974

* Fred W. Parris Towers at 1800 South Broadway, a 14-story International Style residential tower constructed in 1972

* Jesse Powell Towers at 1010 Wolfe Street, a nine-story International Style residential tower erected in 1975.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


slipcover removal grants Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Turner Restoration Burdette Plantation Arkansas African American Civil War History White County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Naturalistic Architecture Pike County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Elias Camp Morris Buffalo National River Forrest City Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas religious history Free Courthouse Poster Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Skillern House cemetery preservsation Phillips County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Roe Arkansas New Century Club of Camden U.S. Forest Service Ozark Farming Civil Works Administration Barney Elias House Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Monroe County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Paris Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Clarendon Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Helena Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Design Network Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Arkansas African American education historic Arkansas properties Montgomery County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot 13th Amendment Sunken Lands Main Street Batesville Dionicio Rodriguez Downtown Revitalization Grants Delta Cultural Center Trail of Tears in Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Kiblah School Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Wingmead downtown revitalization Three States Lumber Company Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Edgar Monsanto Queeny Miller County Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Ozark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic resort communities cemetery preservation Polk County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Freedom Park Leake-Ingham Building Cemetery Preservation Library Forrest City Cemetery Nevada County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Register of Historic Places Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pope County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Russellville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Prairie County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Freedmen's Bureau Rosenwald Schools St. Francis County Historical Society International-Style Architecture Tolbert Gill Camden to Washington Road Benton Arkansas Sandwiching in History Camden Public Library Arkansas History Burdette Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Bogg Springs Arkansas Duck Hunting Main Street Texarkana Saline County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Henry Koen Office Building County courthouse Restoration Grants historic architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pope County Courthouse free history tours free historic preservation workshop News Release Morrilton Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Business History Perry County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Abolition of Slavery Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Let Freedom Ring Poinsett County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School most endangered historic places free teacher resources Tudor Revival Architecture Conway County Library American Legion Historic Preservation Alliance National Historic Landmark Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Newton County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pulaski County Courthouse Flood Control Madison County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic Places Pike County Courthouse downtown economic development Bogg Springs Hotel Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi County Arkansas