Main Street Arkansas Program Set for Heber Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, September 14, 2017

Mark Miller, Main Street Arkansas small business consultant, will present “Homegrown Success” beginning at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 21, at Arrow’s Café at 9 Pangburn Road in Heber Springs. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Miller’s presentation will include information on what attracts people to shop independent stores instead of at “big box” retailers, building a loyal customer base and keeping momentum during slow periods. For additional information about the free workshop, contact Amy Baeder at (206) 351-0205.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Polk County Arkansas American Legion cemetery preservation cemetery preservsation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Preservation Awards Turner Restoration Civilian Conservation Corps International-Style Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Camden Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Louisiana Main Street program Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mississippi Main Street Association Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South slipcover removal grants Helena Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Bogg Springs Hotel Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Abolition of Slavery National Historic Landmark Russellville Arkansas African American education Phillips County Arkansas Skillern House Leake-Ingham Building Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Texarkana News Release Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum National Register of Historic Doddridge Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola County courthouse Restoration Grants Renaissance Revival Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Civil Works Administration Tolbert Gill Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Delta Cultural Center Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pope County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Public Library Burdette Arkansas Erbie Arkansas downtown economic development Centennial Baptist Church historic Arkansas properties North Little Rock Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Kiblah School Marked Tree Arkansas Duck Hunting Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Searcy Pope County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture free history tours Main Street Arkansas Miller County Art Deco Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic telephone booth Main Street Batesville Booneville Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas History Arkansas Design Network White County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants downtown revitalization Arkansas Register of Historic Places Evelyn Gill Walker House Madison County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Huntsville Arkansas Sunken Lands Cemetery Preservation Library Monroe County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Roe Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pike County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas religious history Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Arkansas Conway County Library Barney Elias House 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Rustic Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Morrilton Arkansas 13th Amendment most endangered historic places Ozark Farming Houston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax steel window restoration workshop Freedmen's Bureau Flood Control Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Poinsett County Arkansas Wingmead Saline County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Main Street Siloam Springs National Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Paris Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Perry County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden to Washington Road Fayetteville Arkansas free teacher resources Arkansas African American Civil War History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Benton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Montgomery County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas Business History Free Lesson Plan Craftsman style architecture Walks Through History historic architecture Elias Camp Morris Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 St. Francis County Historical Society Historic Preservation Alliance Freedom Park Burdette Plantation Historic County Courthouses Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Dumas Pike County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Pulaski County Courthouse U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 19th Century Road Construction Folk Victorian Architecture Little Rock Central High School Monroe County Courthouse