Main Street Arkansas Program Set for Hope

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Greg Phillips, Main Street Arkansas director, will make a presentation on the Main Street Arkansas approach to downtown revitalization at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 9, at the Bancorp South second-floor Graves Conference Room at 200 South Elm Street in Hope. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Phillips will speak on the Main Street approach to downtown revitalization and how it has helped renew the historic commercial areas of towns across the state. The presentation is open to the public. For more information on the program, call him at (501) 324-9880, send him an e-mail at [email protected] or call Beckie Moore at (870) 777-3640.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Hardy, Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Newport and Paris. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Mississippi Main Street Association Rustic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Russellville Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans 19th Century Road Construction Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Bogg Springs Hotel Destination Downtown Conference Evelyn Gill Walker House Gothic Revival architecture Abolition of Slavery Saline County Arkansas Civil Works Administration News Release Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Madison County Arkansas historic architecture International-Style Architecture free teacher resources Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Clarendon Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Benton Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Sunken Lands Newton County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs historic resort communities Roe Arkansas 13th Amendment Main Street Arkansas Skillern House Barney Elias House Ozark Farming Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 White County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Edgar Monsanto Queeny National Historic Landmark Nevada County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road U.S. Forest Service Polk County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Turner Restoration Louisiana Main Street program Houston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Kiblah School Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Searcy Arkansas Historic Preservation Tudor Revival Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Public Library cemetery preservation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Alliance National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Forrest City Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Main Street Ozark Naturalistic Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Batesville Freedmen's Bureau Fayetteville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monroe County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Walks Through History Conway County Library African American education "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Doddridge Arkansas steel window restoration workshop St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Business History Delta Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Trail of Tears in Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Civilian Conservation Corps Phillips County Arkansas historic telephone booth Huntsville Commercial Historic District Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Free Lesson Plan Art Deco Architecture Three States Lumber Company American Legion Duck Hunting Arkansas History historic Arkansas properties Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Miller County slipcover removal grants Historic County Courthouses Montgomery County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Booneville Arkansas Wingmead Arkansas Railroad History Buffalo National River Mid-Century Modern Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Pope County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church most endangered historic places Camden Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Forrest City Cemetery Prairie County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Humanities Council Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown revitalization downtown economic development Poinsett County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris free historic preservation workshop Craftsman style architecture Main Street Dumas Pike County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pike County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Sandwiching in History Cemetery Preservation Library Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Helena Arkansas Burdette Plantation Arkansas Preservation Awards Perry County Arkansas Flood Control Monroe County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Tolbert Gill Bogg Springs Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council free history tours Let Freedom Ring Paris Arkansas