Main Street Arkansas Program Set for Mena

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 05, 2017

LITTLE ROCK, AR—Greg Phillips, Main Street Arkansas director, will make a presentation on the Main Street Arkansas approach to downtown revitalization at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 23, at the Ouachita Center of the University of Arkansas at Rich Mountain at 1100 College Drive in Mena. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Phillips will speak on the Main Street approach to downtown revitalization and how it has helped renew the historic commercial areas of towns across the state. The presentation is open to the public. For more information on the program, call him at (501) 324-9880, send him an e-mail at [email protected] or call Jud Thompson at (479) 216-7644.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Hardy, Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Newport and Paris. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


American Legion Centennial Baptist Church Dionicio Rodriguez downtown economic development Wingmead Prairie County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants free history tours Arkansas Business History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Madison County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Craftsman style architecture Main Street Batesville Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Arkansas Skillern House steel window restoration workshop News Release Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Railroad History Mississippi County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Louisiana Main Street program Ozark Farming Nevada County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Historic Preservation Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Texarkana Newton County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Pulaski County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Three States Lumber Company National Register of Historic Tudor Revival Architecture U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Civilian Conservation Corps County courthouse Restoration Grants Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Rustic Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Folk Victorian Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic County Courthouses slipcover removal grants historic resort communities Pope County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan Mid-Century Modern Architecture Naturalistic Architecture International-Style Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Montgomery County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Polk County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Civil Works Administration Freedom Park Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Camden Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Ouachita County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster cemetery preservsation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Burdette Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Ozark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden to Washington Road Let Freedom Ring historic architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas History Little Rock Central High School Paris Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Main Street Arkansas free teacher resources cemetery preservation Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Dumas Flood Control Poinsett County Arkansas Buffalo National River Saline County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Russellville Arkansas Conway County Library Arkansas religious history White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance Monsanto Chemical Corporation 13th Amendment historic Arkansas properties Pike County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Sandwiching in History African American education Burdette Plantation St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Design Network Freedmen's Bureau most endangered historic places Benton Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Doddridge Arkansas historic telephone booth Barney Elias House Arkansas African American Civil War History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 19th Century Road Construction Kiblah School North Little Rock Arkansas Miller County Bogg Springs Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Pike County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Turner Restoration Delta Cultural Center Camden Public Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society Art Deco Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Booneville Arkansas Tolbert Gill Roe Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Perry County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Houston Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Searcy Walks Through History Duck Hunting Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Cemetery Preservation Library downtown revitalization Rosenwald Schools Destination Downtown Conference Pope County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation