Main Street Arkansas Sponsors Three Business Workshops

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 28, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—Main Street Arkansas will sponsor free business recruitment and retention workshops in Jonesboro, Russellville and Batesville in May, Main Street Arkansas Director Greg Phillips announced today. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Hillary Greenberg, president of Greenberg Development Services of Charlotte, N.C., will lead the free workshops titled “Filling Vacancies and Strengthening Businesses: Tips for Building a Strong Business Retention and Recruitment Program.” The workshops will be held:

* Tuesday, May 5, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., Downtown Jonesboro Association Office, 407 Union Street, Jonesboro; contact Hailey Knight, (870) 919-6176 or [email protected]

* Wednesday, May 6, 11:30 to 1 p.m., first-floor conference room at Russellville City Hall, 203 South Commerce Street, Russellville; contact Betsy McGuire, (501) 967-1437 or [email protected]

* Thursday, May 7, 11:30 to 1 p.m., Batesville Chamber of Commerce, 409 Vine Street, Batesville; contact Joel Williams, (501) 698-1555 or [email protected]

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Hardy, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, DeWitt, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Malvern and Pocahontas. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Freedmen's Bureau Freedom Park North Little Rock Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council free teacher resources Historic County Courthouses Russellville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Conway County Library Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Cumberland Presbyterian Church Doddridge Arkansas Buffalo National River steel window restoration workshop Saline County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic telephone booth Arkansas Business History Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Booneville Historical Preservation Society International-Style Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons American Legion National Historic Landmark slipcover removal grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Rosston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Newton County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Civil Works Administration Arkansas History Lesson Plans Ozark Farming African American education Paris Arkansas National Register of Historic Louisiana Main Street program Camden Arkansas Arkansas History Wingmead Polk County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden free history tours Mississippi Main Street Association Burdette Arkansas Kiblah School Civilian Conservation Corps historic Arkansas properties Arkansas religious history Turner Restoration Folk Victorian Architecture historic resort communities Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission most endangered historic places Huntsville Commercial Historic District Burdette Plantation Sandwiching in History Booneville Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Courthouse Poster Forrest City Cemetery Centennial Baptist Church Houston Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Perry County Arkansas downtown economic development Main Street Ozark Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Dumas Rustic Architecture Tolbert Gill Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pike County Courthouse downtown revitalization Little Rock Central High School Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Searcy Miller County Flood Control Delta Cultural Center Art Deco Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Cemetery Preservation Library Madison County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Humanities Council Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Pope County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Register of Historic Places "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Phillips County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places free historic preservation workshop Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Monroe County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Walks Through History Dionicio Rodriguez Skillern House Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Design Network Poinsett County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Bogg Springs Hotel historic architecture Pope County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting Sunken Lands Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Dr. Ruth Hawkins Roe Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Benton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pike County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservation Forrest City Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Camden Public Library Monroe County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Arkansas Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Batesville Barney Elias House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mississippi County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Naturalistic Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas Three States Lumber Company White County Courthouse News Release